a few days we'll be removing an old Facebook setting you've used in the
past. You'll see an announcement on Facebook and have several chances
to learn about this before then. We just wanted to tell you about this
in advance so you have time to review what's changing and understand
your privacy options.
removing an old search setting called "Who can look up your Timeline by
name"—but this won't change who can see what you've shared on Facebook.
What did this setting do?
"Who can look up your Timeline by name" controlled who could find your Timeline by typing your name in search.
What will happen when the setting is removed?
will be able to look up your Timeline by your name — but if they go to
your Timeline, they'll only see what they already have permission to
see. Removing this setting doesn't change who can see your photos,
status updates or other things you've shared.
Why is Facebook removing this setting?
we created this setting, the only way to find you on Facebook was to
search for your specific name. Now, people can come across your Timeline
in other ways: for example if a friend tags you in a photo, which links
to your Timeline, or if people search for phrases like "People who like
The Beatles," or "People who live in Seattle," in Graph Search.
Today, the best way to manage who sees your stuff is to use your Privacy Shortcuts (just click the at the top of every page of the Facebook website), and to choose who to share with when you post new photos and updates.
You'll have more chances to review this info before the setting is removed—and we'll remind you on Facebook.
Want to review your privacy choices now? Here are some things you can do:
If you want to quickly limit the audience of things you've shared in the past to Friends, visit your privacy settings.
Each time you share a photo, link or status update, you can set the privacy for that specific post.
Check out what you've shared in the past—and who can see that info—by going to your activity log. To get to your activity log, click the at the top of any page to open your privacy shortcuts.
Thanks for taking the time to read this message and for being part of Facebook.