Friday, May 16, 2014

New Books at HPL




Wild at Heart
Wild at Heart
By Roberts, Nora
2014-02 - Silhouette Books
9780373281770 Check Our Catalog

…More


The Other Story
The Other Story
By De Rosnay, Tatiana
2014-04 - St. Martin's Press
9781250045133 Check Our Catalog

With this story of a self-absorbed, newly wealthy writer struggling with his identity and coming to terms with the shocking secrets of his family's past, de Rosnay "(Sarah's Key; A Secret Kept") continues her literary trend of combining international locations and complex characters. …More


Miss Julia's Marvelous Makeover
Miss Julia's Marvelous Makeover
By Ross, Ann B.
2014-04 - Viking Books
9780670026111 Check Our Catalog

In this marvelous addition to the popular series, Miss Julia is sure to have a summer that she--and Abbotsville--will never forget! …More


Words of Radiance
Words of Radiance
By Sanderson, Brandon
2014-03 - Tor Books
9780765326362 Check Our Catalog

Brandon Sanderson's The Stormlight Archive sequence began in 2010 with the "New York Times "bestseller "The Way of Kings." Now, the eagerly anticipated "Words of Radiance" continues the epic story and answers many of your questions. …More


Keep Quiet
Keep Quiet
By Scottoline, Lisa
2014-04 - St. Martin's Press
9781250010094 Check Our Catalog

Jake Whitmore is enjoying a rare bonding moment with his sixteen-year-old son, Kurt, when disaster strikes. They get in a terrible car accident that threatens to derail not only Kurt's chances at college, but his entire future. Jake makes a split-second decision that saves his son from formal punishment, but plunges them both into a world of guilt, lies, and secrecy. Just when Jake thinks he has everything under control, a malevolent outsider comes forward with the power to expose Jake's secret and taunts him to the breaking point. Keep Quiet is the powerful and gut-wrenching tale of the unraveling--and the ultimate redemption--of a family. …More


The Art Forger
The Art Forger
By Shapiro, B. A.
2013-05 - Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
9781616203160 Check Our Catalog

On March 18, 1990, 13 works of art now worth more than $500 million were stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. It remains the largest unsolved art heist in history, and struggling young artist Claire Roth is about to discover that there's more to this crime than meets the eye. …More


The English Girl
The English Girl
By Silva, Daniel
2013-07 - Harper
9780062073167 Check Our Catalog

Daniel Silva delivers another spectacular thriller starring Gabriel Allon, The English Girl. When a beautiful young British woman vanishes on the island of Corsica, a prime minister's career is threatened with destruction. Allon, the wayward son of Israeli intelligence, is thrust into a game of shadows where nothing is what it seems...and where the only thing more dangerous than his enemies might be the truth... Silva's work has captured the imagination of millions worldwide; his #1 New York Times bestselling series which chronicles the adventures of art-restorer and master spy Gabriel Allon has earned the praise of readers and reviewers everywhere. This captivating new page-turner from the undisputed master of spy fiction is sure to thrill new and old fans alike. …More


Longer Than
Longer Than
By Spindler, Erica
2014-04 - Severn House Publishers
9780727883568 Check Our Catalog

…More


The Sins of the Mother
The Sins of the Mother
By Steel, Danielle
2012-10 - Random House Large Print Publishing
9780307990846 Check Our Catalog

Olivia, an enormously successful businesswoman, missed out on much of her children's lives while she built her legendary home-furnishings empire. In Steel's character-rich new novel, Olivia faces the past, tries to balance the present, and makes amends where due. …More


Until the End of Time
Until the End of Time
By Steel, Danielle
2013-01 - Delacorte Press
9780345530882 Check Our Catalog

Two couples, four decades apart. One believes that if lovers die, they find each other again in another life. Or perhaps they wind up as stars side by side in the sky, together forever. Who knows how it really ends? Bestselling author Steel breaks new ground in her career with the poignant story of two parallel destinies, and the kind of love that will be everlasting. …More


Innocent
Innocent
By Sullivan, Leo
2009-06 - Triple Crown Publications
9780982099643 Check Our Catalog

…More


Lifestyles of the Rich and Shameless
Lifestyles of the Rich and Shameless
By Swinson, Kiki
Author Noire
2011-12 - Dafina Books
9780758251800 Check Our Catalog

Noire--the reigning queen of urban erotic fiction--and urban fiction star Swinson unite their talents in this too-hot-to-handle anthology that will appeal to fans of Wahida Clark and Nikki Turner. …More


Thug-A-Licious: An Urban Erotic Tale
Thug-A-Licious: An Urban Erotic Tale
By Noire
2006-08 - One World
9780345486912 Check Our Catalog


Combining erotica and street lit, #1 "Essence" bestselling author Noire has crafted an urban, erotic masterpiece--a sexy, authentic tale of the price to be paid for unchecked ambition. (Erotica)
HPL patron:  Didn't really like this book but it was sad.  Don't really like the author.
…More

Millionaire Mistress Part 3: Chloe's Revenge
Millionaire Mistress Part 3: Chloe's Revenge
By Montgomery, Tiphani
2009-10 - Life Changing Books
9781934230725 Check Our Catalog

A bad bitch never dies! Chloe is back and in full force! Ride with author, Tiphani as she tells a riveting tale about money, lust, and revenge. Between sexin' any man who can help her achieve her over-the-top goals, and on a crazed path of revenge, Chloe shocks us all with her newfound tricks of the trade. She's come full circle with new ammo, a new mission, and her old mischievous ways. You won't believe what she's got up her sleeve. Stay tuned...the third installment to this drama filled series …More


Boss Lady
Boss Lady
By Tyree, Omar
2006-06 - Simon & Schuster
9780743228725 Check Our Catalog

The author's best-loved character is at the top of her game, thoroughly in charge, and taking life strictly on her own terms. In this novel, "Fly Girl" is becoming a major motion picture, and Tracy is prepared to do anything to make sure it's done right. …More


Diary of a Groupie
Diary of a Groupie
By Tyree, Omar
2004-06 - Simon & Schuster
0743228715 Check Our Catalog

Tabitha Knight lives a very peculiar life. A child of foster care who has grown into an attractive and ambitious adult, she now finds solace, excitement, and security in the company of rich and famous men whom she dates as a discreet and charming groupie.
Everyone wants to be loved. Tabitha understands that. She shares her gifts with those who seek and, perhaps, need love the mostmale celebrities. She remains anonymous by changing her name, age, and address as often as she changes the men she dates.
Only a few things remain constant in her life: the continued love and support of her foster sisters in Seattle and the record she keeps of her life in her secret diary.
When a wealthy banker offers Tabitha a huge paycheck to help bring to justice a high-profile celebrity who is known to have sex with underage women, Tabitha finds herself on the wrong side of desperate men, some of whom have more to lose than just their privacy. Those who want the information in her diary to stay secret threaten Tabitha, her sisters, and anyone who comes to know its contents.
Omar Tyree, the "New York Times" bestselling author, is back with a suspenseful thriller of what happens when a young woman threatens the famous and powerful.
…More


Young-Minded Hustler
Young-Minded Hustler
By Tysha
2012-08 - Urban Books
9781601625168 Check Our Catalog

This thrilling, fast-paced novel introduces readers to a determined single mother who will do anything to protect her street-hustler son. …More


While Mortals Sleep: Unpublished Short Fiction
While Mortals Sleep: Unpublished Short Fiction
By Vonnegut, Kurt, Jr.
2011-01 - Delacorte Press
9780385343732 Check Our Catalog

Featuring more than a dozen pieces of artwork done by Vonnegut himself, this collection contains 16 never-before-published pieces of short fiction--long-buried, brilliant short stories dating from early in the author's career. …More


Love and Treasure
Love and Treasure
By Waldman, Ayelet
2014-04 - Knopf Publishing Group
9780385533546 Check Our Catalog

A spellbinding new novel of contraband masterpieces, tragic love, and the unexpected legacies of forgotten crimes, Ayelet Waldman's "Love and Treasure" weaves a tale around the fascinating, true history of the Hungarian Gold Train in the Second World War. …More


The Pale King: An Unfinished Novel
The Pale King: An Unfinished Novel
By Wallace, David Foster
2011-04 - Little Brown and Company
9780316074230 Check Our Catalog

"The Pale King" remained unfinished at the time of Wallace's death, but it is a deeply intriguing and satisfying novel, hilarious and fearless and as original as anything Wallace ever undertook. It grapples directly with questions of life's meaning and of the ultimate value of work and family. …More


Game Over: Triple Crown Publications Presents
Game Over: Triple Crown Publications Presents
By Whitaker, Tu-Shonda L.
2005-02 - Triple Crown Publications
9780976234920 Check Our Catalog

…More


Queen
Queen
By White, Cynthia
2007-09 - Triple Crown Publications
9780977880409 Check Our Catalog


Queen is young, beautiful and extremely intelligent. Born and raised as Princess of The Black Mafia, an organization founded by her father, she wants for nothing except the love of her cruel, cold-hearted mother. When the police arrest Queen's father for her mother's murder, Queen's perfect life is shattered. Holding a dark secret, Queen must decide if she can reveal the true identity of the killer in order to spare her father's life.
With her father gone, she searches for security in the arms of a series of lovers, who all have their own agendas. Just as her life seems to be spinning out of control, she learns to face her own demons and take control of her destiny. But when Queen finally realizes that she is so much more than the criminals and thugs who surround her, it may already be too late.
"Queen" is followed by its sequel, "Always a Queen." …More


At the Court's Mercy
At the Court's Mercy
By Williams, KaShamba
2007-12 - Urban Books
9781601620309 Check Our Catalog

A young man haunted by his past and torn between street life and fatherhood just wants a normal life with his son and new fiance, but his choices go from bad to worse, in this gritty, powerful tale. …More


Carnal Curiosity
Carnal Curiosity
By Woods, Stuart
2014-04 - Putnam Adult
9780399164163 Check Our Catalog

Stone Barrington seems to have a knack for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. When Manhattan's elite are beset by a series of clever crimes-and Stone is a material witness-he and his former partner Dino Bacchetti find themselves drawn into the world of high-end security and fraud, where insider knowledge and access are limited to a privileged few, and the wealthy are made vulnerable by the very systems meant to keep them safe. As Stone and Dino delve deeper into their investigation, they learn that the mastermind behind the incidents may have some intimate ties to Stone. And that the biggest heist is still to come. …More