Thursday, July 2, 2015

Summer Reading-Week 3-What Muskegon is reading this summer


Come Sunday Morning
Come Sunday Morning
By Hill, Terry E.
2014-08 - Urban Renaissance
9781601624215 Check Our Catalog
In Hill's shocking debut novel, a charismatic pastor grapples with the conflict between his religious convictions and his love for a man, while his ambitious and resentful wife schemes to murder him and take over his church. …More


The Dodge Brothers: The Men, the Motor Cars, and the Legacy
The Dodge Brothers: The Men, the Motor Cars, and the Legacy
By Hyde, Charles K.
2005-04 - Wayne State University Press
9780814332467 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Michigan Notable Books (2006)

Charles K. Hyde's book The Dodge Brothers: The Men, the Motor Cars, and the Legacy is the first scholarly study of the Dodge brothers and their company, chronicling their lives��-from their childhood in Niles, Michigan, to their long years of learning the machinist's trade in Battle Creek, Port Huron, Detroit, and Windsor, Ontario��-and examining their influence on automotive …More


Attack on Titan, Volume 14
Attack on Titan, Volume 14
By Isayama, Hajime
2014-11 - Kodansha Comics
9781612626802 Check Our Catalog
In this post-apocalyptic sci-fi story, humanity has been devastated by the bizarre, giant humanoids known as the Titans. Little is known about where they came from or why they are bent on consuming mankind. Seemingly unintelligent, they have roamed the world for years, killing everyone they see. For the past century, what's left of the human race has hidden in a giant, three-walled city. People …More


Attack on Titan 15
Attack on Titan 15
By Isayama, Hajime
2015-03 - Kodansha Comics
9781612629797 Check Our Catalog
FUGITIVES AND PRISONERS
Hange's interrogation of a Military Police squad has revealed that Krista (a.k.a. Historia Reiss) is the true heir to the throne. The Corps quickly moves to enthrone her as queen, but a homicidal MP leads a squad that abducts Eren and Krista and throws the Corps into disarray. With Erwin arrested and the Survey Corps on the edge of dissolution, are Levi and Hange finally
…More


The King
The King
By James, Steven
2013-07 - Signet Book
9780451239785 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
INSPYs the Bloggers Awards for Excellence in Faith-Driven Literature (2014)

FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers has matched wits with some of the most violent serial killers in history--and one of them has never forgiven him....
Patrick Bowers has pursued the nation's fiercest serial killers--and now one elusive foe is back for revenge.
Settling into a new post at the FBI academy, Patrick and his fiancee, Lien-hua Jiang, are planning their future together with his
…More


The Green Mile: The Complete Serial Novel
The Green Mile: The Complete Serial Novel
By King, Stephen
2000-10 - Scribner Book Company
9780743210898 Check Our Catalog

Set in the 1930s at the Cold Mountain Penitentiary's death-row facility, The Green Mile is the riveting and tragic story of John Coffey, a giant, preternaturally gentle inmate condemned to death for the rape and murder of twin nine-year-old girls. It is a story narrated years later by Paul Edgecomb, the ward superintendent compelled to help every prisoner spend his last days peacefully and …More


Werewolf Cop
Werewolf Cop
By Klavan, Andrew
2015-03 - Pegasus Books
9781605986982 Check Our Catalog
After a brutal murder gives them a lead, Zach and his tough guy NYPD partner Martin Goulart feel like they re finally on Abend s trail. But things get complicated and very, very weird. Goulart s on-the-job enemies are accusing him of corruption. And Zach is beginning to suspect that Abend s evil goes beyond crime perhaps to the edge of the supernatural. As his investigation continues in Germany, …More


Luckiest Girl Alive
Luckiest Girl Alive
By Knoll, Jessica
2015-05 - Simon & Schuster
9781476789637 Check Our Catalog
***AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER***
Fans of "Gone Girl" and "The Girl on the Train" will thrill at "the perfect page-turner to start your summer" ("People," Book of the Week): "Luckiest Girl Alive"--described by Reese Witherspoon as "one of those reads you just can't put down "
""Loved Gone Girl"? We promise "Luckiest Girl Alive" is] just as addictive."
--"Good
…More


Robert B. Parker's Bull River
Robert B. Parker's Bull River
By Knott, Robert
2014-12 - Lpp
9781594137754 Check Our Catalog
Itinerant lawmen Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch are back in the saddle with guns blazing in this gritty, intense addition to the New York Times-bestselling series …More


Your Sun Sign as a Spiritual Guide
Your Sun Sign as a Spiritual Guide
By Kriyananda, Swami
2014-01 - Crystal Clarity Publishers
9781565892743 Check Our Catalog
What sets this book apart from other astrology titles is Kriyananda s focus on the spiritual potential of each sun sign, rather than focusing mainly on the karmic limitations. It is so common to hear generalizations such as: Leo is proud, and Taurus is stubborn. In his book Kriyananda shows how, with awareness, attention, and will, one can cultivate the higher potential of his sign, leading to …More


Dropped Names: Famous Men and Women as I Knew Them
Dropped Names: Famous Men and Women as I Knew Them
By Langella, Frank
2012-03 - HarperTorch
9780062094476 Check Our Catalog

For more than four decades, Langella has enjoyed a singular life and career. This extremely versatile actor is also a brilliant writer with a perceptive eye and a gift for the telling detail. "Dropped Names" is a collection of illuminating portraits of the people he has met and known as well as deeply revealing memories told with a rare honesty.
HPL patron: …More


The Guardian
The Guardian
By Lewis, Beverly
2013-04 - Thorndike Press
9781410455376 Check Our Catalog

Mystery surrounds the non-English speaking girl Jodi Winfield found along the road one morning. Will an unexpected encounter with the Amish shed some light?
HPL patron: A mother's worst nightmare then the dream come true. A must read.
…More


The Thorn
The Thorn
By Lewis, Beverly
2010-10 - Thorndike Press
9781410428479 Check Our Catalog

Rose's older sister, Hen, knows more than she should about falling for the wrong man. Unable to abandon her Amish ways, Hen is soon separated from her very modern husband. Mattie, their young daughter, must visit her father regularly, but Hen demands she wear Amish attire--and speak Pennsylvania Dutch, despite her husband's wishes. Will Hen be able to reestablish her place among the People she …More


Ready for Marriage: Finding Happily-Ever-After
Ready for Marriage: Finding Happily-Ever-After
By Macomber, Debbie
Author Ferrarella, Marie
2015-03 - Harlequin
9780373010196 Check Our Catalog


HPL patron: I liked the characters.
HPL patron: Seemed kind of drawn out.
…More


A Real Prince: The Bachelor PrinceYesterday's Hero
A Real Prince: The Bachelor PrinceYesterday's Hero
By Macomber, Debbie
2015-02 - Mira Books
9780778315513 Check Our Catalog
www.DebbieMacomber.com
A man who happens to be a prince...
Stefano Giorgio Paolo is the heir to the throne of his small country, and he's come to America in search of a bride. A wealthy bride who can help save his kingdom from financial ruin. But the woman he actually wants is Hope Jordan--who has nothing to offer him except her love. Can The Bachelor Prince give up his throne for the
…More


The Reluctant Groom: All Things ConsideredAlmost Paradise
The Reluctant Groom: All Things ConsideredAlmost Paradise
By Macomber, Debbie
2015-01 - Mira Books
9780778317418 Check Our Catalog
www.DebbieMacomber.com
All Things Considered
Judd Matthiessen was married, and it didn't work out. He left his wife, Lanni, and their daughter, which seemed to prove what his father had always said--he was no good. But now the old man's illness brings Judd back to the family ranch. Despite all his bitterness, all his anger, Judd asks Lanni to join him. When she does, he finds that he still
…More


Together Again: The Trouble with CaasiReflections of Yesterday
Together Again: The Trouble with CaasiReflections of Yesterday
By Macomber, Debbie
2014-12 - Mira Books
9780778315148 Check Our Catalog
www.DebbieMacomber.com
He's leaving her--or is he?
Caasi Crane, CEO of a West Coast hotel chain, has always taken her job seriously--and taken her most important employee for granted. But when Blake Sherrill, her very skillful (and very attractive) general manager resigns, Caasi suddenly realizes she not only needs him, she loves him. So now the question is: How can she convince Blake to
…More


Beloved
Beloved
By Morrison, Toni
Introduction by Byatt, A. S.
2006-10 - Everyman's Library
9780307264886 Check Our Catalog
Staring unflinchingly into the abyss of slavery, this spellbinding novel transforms history into a story as powerful as Exodus and as intimate as a lullaby. Sethe, its protagonist, was born a slave and escaped to Ohio, but eighteen years later she is still not free. She has too many memories of Sweet Home, the beautiful farm where so many hideous things happened. And Sethe's new home is haunted by …More


Cold Plate Justice
Cold Plate Justice
By Nolan, Terry J.
2015-04 - Createspace
9781508622727 Check Our Catalog


HPL patron: Good story, I feel it was based on murder that happened here.
…More


People We Meet: Unforgettable Conversations
People We Meet: Unforgettable Conversations
By Greene, David
2014-05 - Highbridge Company
9781622313884 Check Our Catalog

Nationally known NPR on-air personalities including Melissa Block, David Greene, Rachel Martin, Guy Raz, Scott Simon, Susan Stamberg and many more share the lasting impressions made during interviews with a wide variety of exceptional individuals. Each story is introduced by the NPR host and offers a candid account of how the encounter was particularly meaningful to them.These are …More


Scott Pilgrim, Volume 6: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour
Scott Pilgrim, Volume 6: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour
By O'Malley, Bryan Lee
Illustrator O'Malley, Bryan Lee
2010-07 - Oni Press
9781934964385 Check Our Catalog
It's finally here! Six years and almost one-thousand pages have all led to this epic finale! With six of Ramona's seven evil exes dispatched, it should be time for Scott Pilgrim to face Gideon Graves, the biggest and baddest of her former beaus. But didn't Ramona take off at the end of Book 5? Shouldn't that let Scott off the hook? Maybe it should, maybe it shouldn't, but one thing is for certain …More


Deadly Devotion
Deadly Devotion
By Orchard, Sandra
2013-06 - Fleming H. Revell Company
9780800722227 Check Our Catalog
The police declared her mentor's death a suicide, but research scientist Kate Adams knows it's notNand her quest for the truth puts her own life in jeopardy. …More


The Job: True Tales from the Life of a New York City Cop
The Job: True Tales from the Life of a New York City Cop
By Osborne, Steve
2015-04 - Doubleday Books
9780385539623 Check Our Catalog
"How ya doin?"
With these four syllables, delivered in an unmistakably authentic New York accent, Steve Osborne has riveted thousands of people through the legendary storytelling outfit The Moth (and over a million times on their website) with his hilarious, profane, and touching tales from his twenty years served as an NYPD street cop. Steve Osborne is the real deal, people, the tough
…More



Invincible
Invincible
By Palmer, Diana
2014-12 - Thorndike Press
9781410474469 Check Our Catalog
He's everything she fears...and everything she wants
Mercenary by name and by nature, Carson is a Lakota Sioux who stays to himself and never keeps women around long enough for anything emotional to develop. But working with his friend Cash Grier on a complex murder investigation provides Carson with another kind of fun--shocking Cash's sweet but traditional secretary, Carlie Blair, with tales
…More