Tuesday, August 9, 2016

Adult Summer Reading-Week 5-Monday





Isaac's Storm: A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
Isaac's Storm: A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
By Larson, Erik
2000-07 - Vintage Books USA
9780375708275 Check Our Catalog


September 8, 1900, began innocently in the seaside town of Galveston, Texas. Even Isaac Cline, resident meteorologist for the U.S. Weather Bureau, failed to grasp the true meaning of the strange deep-sea swells and peculiar winds that greeted the city that morning. Mere hours later, Galveston found itself submerged by a monster hurricane that completely destroyed the town and killed over 6,000 …More


Monument 14
Monument 14
By Laybourne, Emmy
2013-05 - Square Fish
9781250027382 Check Our Catalog


In Laybourne's action-packed debut novel, six high school kids, two eighth graders, and six little kids are trapped together in a chain superstore. While outside, a series of escalating disasters seems to be tearing the worldNas they know itNapart, so the kids build a refuge for themselves inside.
HPL patron: I absolutely loved this book! It has an interesting storyline. …More


Two Cents Plain: My Brooklyn Boyhood
Two Cents Plain: My Brooklyn Boyhood
By Lemelman, Martin
2010-08 - Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
9781608190041 Check Our Catalog


Martin Lemelman's elegiac and bittersweet graphic memoir "Two Cents Plain" collects the memories and artifacts of the author's childhood in Brooklyn. The son of Holocaust survivors, Lemelman grew up in the back of his family's candy store in Brownsville during the 1950s and '60s, as the neighborhood, and much of the city, moved into a period of deep decline. In "Two Cents Plain," Lemelman …More


The Last Bride
The Last Bride
By Lewis, Beverly
2014-04 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764211980 Check Our Catalog



HPL patron: This Amish Culture novel by B. Lewis was one of my favorites from Ms. Lewis, even though the 1st half told of sadness and tragedy. The last half of the story spoke of love, forgiveness, faith, and great joy and happiness. Aren't those the happy endings we all want in a story? Yes! And the ending was not contrived, it came naturally.
…More


The Photograph
The Photograph
By Lewis, Beverly
2015-09 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764217289 Check Our Catalog



HPL patron: It was a very good depiction of what the Amish go through everyday.
…More


The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories
The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories
By Lovecraft, H. P.
Introduction by Joshi, S. T.
2011-09 - Penguin Books
9780143106487 Check Our Catalog

A collection of stories from H.P. Lovecraft, the unrivaled master of early-twentieth-century horror Frequently imitated and widely influential, H. P. Lovecraft reinvented the horror genre for the twentieth century. Discarding witches and ghosts, he envisaged mankind as an outpost of dwindling sanity in a chaotic and malevolent universe. S. T. Joshi makes his selection from the early tales of …More


The Crackle of the Frost
The Crackle of the Frost
By Mattotti, Lorenzo
Author Zentner, Jorge
2012-09 - Fantagraphics Books
9781606995433 Check Our Catalog


When confronted with his girlfriend's request that they have a child together, Samuel fled that relationship. But now, a year later, when he receives a letter from Alice announcing she is expecting a baby, old emotions flare up and he embarks on a long journey to see Alice again to re-open, or perhaps close forever, that important chapter of his life. The Crackle of the Frost is the story of …More


Star Spangled Murder
Star Spangled Murder
By Meier, Leslie
2004-06 - Kensington Publishing Corporation
9781575668369 Check Our Catalog

Lucy Stone Is in the doghouse--with her next-door neighbor Mrs. Prudence Pratt. It seems that Kudo, the Stones' misbehaving mutt, has developed a taste for Mrs. Pratt's blue-ribbon winning chickens. When Mrs. Pratt is the victim of a hit-and-run, the Stones are suspected--and Lucy must find the real killer. …More


Sleeping Giants
Sleeping Giants
By Neuvel, Sylvain
2016-04 - Del Rey Books
9781101886694 Check Our Catalog

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, "World War Z, "and" The Martian, " "Sleeping Giants" is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with
…More


Compromised
Compromised
By Noble, Kate
2008-03 - Berkley Publishing Group
9780425219645 Check Our Catalog

From a dazzling new voice in historical fiction comes a pair of mismatched lovers who find themselves caught in a most scandalous position. …More


Stiletto
Stiletto
By O'Malley, Daniel
2016-06 - Little Brown and Company
9780316228046 Check Our Catalog

In this spirited sequel to the acclaimed "The Rook, " Myfanwy Thomas returns to clinch an alliance between deadly rivals and avert epic -- and slimy -- supernatural war.

When secret organizations are forced to merge after years of enmity and bloodshed, only one person has the fearsome powers---and the bureaucratic finesse---to get the job done. Facing her greatest challenge yet, Rook
…More


Become a Better You Journal: A Guide to Improving Your Life Every Day
Become a Better You Journal: A Guide to Improving Your Life Every Day
By Osteen, Joel
2008-04 - Free Press
9781416573067 Check Our Catalog


The perfect companion to Osteen's #1 "New York Times" bestseller "Become a Better You," this journal helps readers integrate his seven simple yet profound principles into their hearts on a day-to-day basis.
HPL patron: Excellent. Very positive and uplifting.
HPL patron: Very positive-nice to hear a positive voice in your …More


Four Blind Mice
Four Blind Mice
By Patterson, James
2002-11 - Hachette International
9780316147866 Check Our Catalog


Alex Cross is on his way to resign from the Police Department when his partner John Sampson shows up at his door. One of Sampson's oldest friends has been framed for murder and, worse yet, is subject to the insular laws of the U.S. Army. The evidence is strong enough to send him to the gas chamber. Cross and Sampson plunge into a case where military codes of honor conceal dark currents of …More


4th of July
4th of July
By Patterson, James
Author Paetro, Maxine
2005-05 - Little Brown and Company
9780316710602 Check Our Catalog


After losing one of its own, Lindsay Boxer and the Women's Murder Club make a courageous return for their fourth and most chilling case ever--one that could easily be their last.
HPL patron: An unexpected twist to this series, and all the more wonderful for it!
…More


The 5th Horseman
The 5th Horseman
By Patterson, James
Author Paetro, Maxine
2007-04 - Grand Central Publishing
9780446699310 Check Our Catalog


In this #1 "New York Times" bestseller by Patterson and Paetro, the Women's Murder Club faces an unspeakable horror in an irresistible hospital and courtroom thriller.
HPL patron: Another story to keep you guessing and on your toes. Well done and a quick read!
…More


Treachery at Lancaster Gate
Treachery at Lancaster Gate
By Perry, Anne
2016-03 - Ballantine Books
9781101886328 Check Our Catalog



HPL patron: Anne Perry has written many Victorian mysteries. This is one of the best. It has dynamite, opium, crooked police, and some ambitious men trying to get ahead.
…More


Unseen Academicals
Unseen Academicals
By Pratchett, Terence David John
Author Pratchett, Terry
2009-10 - Harper
9780061161704 Check Our Catalog


Discworld lives on. In this latest novel, Terry Pratchett delivers the trademark insight and humor readers the world over have come to expect from the purely funniest English writer since Wodehouse ("Washington Post Book World").
HPL patron: I listed to the playaway-the story is very entertaining and though the story is part of the Discworld series, you don't have to be …More


Zigzag: A Nameless Detective Collection
Zigzag: A Nameless Detective Collection
By Pronzini, Bill
2016-05 - Forge
9780765381033 Check Our Catalog


Two novellas and two short stories featuring Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Bill Pronzini's iconic Nameless Detective

"Zigzag" is an original novella, in which a safe and simple accident investigation becomes the unraveling of a twisted murder scheme.

"Grapplin," which first appeared in "Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine," deals with the kind of missing person case that can …More


Affair
Affair
By Quick, Amanda
1998-02 - Bantam Books
9780553574074 Check Our Catalog

Charlotte Arkendale knew all there was to know about men. After all, she'd made a career out of steering marriage-minded women away from untrustworthy members of the opposite sex.

Yet nothing could have prepared her for Baxter St. Ives--an arresting stranger too daring, too determined, too dangerous to be her new man-of-affairs. Still, perhaps he was the perfect person to help
…More


Deception
Deception
By Quick, Amanda
1996-03 - Bantam
9780553565065 Check Our Catalog

From "Seduction to "Surrender and "Reckless to "Ravished, "New York Times bestselling author Amanda Quick has spun one thrilling love story after another. Now, in her long-awaited hardcover debut, she introduces her most endearing heroine and compelling hero, in a dazzling, daring tale of lost pirate gold and legendary love... "Deception. …More


Mischief
Mischief
By Quick, Amanda
1997-03 - Bantam
9780553571905 Check Our Catalog

Imogen Waterstone has always prided herself on being a thoroughly independent young woman, but now she needs a man of implacable will and nerves of iron. That's why she invited Matthias Marshall, infamous Earl of Colchester, to her home in Upper Strickland. Who better than the legendary explorer to help her lay the perfect trap?


Her scheme is simple, really: She plans to let it be
…More


Scandal
Scandal
By Quick, Amanda
1996-03 - Bantam
9780553289329 Check Our Catalog

"Bantam Books historical romance"--Spine. …More


Seduction
Seduction
By Quick, Amanda
1996-03 - Bantam
9780553283549 Check Our Catalog

Townsfolk called him devil. For dark and enigmatic Julian, Earl of Ravenwood, was a man with a legendary temper and a first wife whose mysterious death would not be forgotten. Some said the beautiful Lady Ravenwood had drowned herself in the black, murky waters of Ravenwood Pond. Others whispered of foul play and the devil's wrath.

Now country-bred Sophy Dorring is about to become
…More


Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War
Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War
By Roach, Mary
2016-06 - W. W. Norton & Company
9780393245448 Check Our Catalog


Grunt tackles the science behind some of a soldier's most challenging adversaries panic, exhaustion, heat, noise and introduces us to the scientists who seek to conquer them. Mary Roach dodges hostile fire with the U.S. Marine Corps Paintball Team as part of a study on hearing loss and survivability in combat. She visits the fashion design studio of U.S. Army Natick Labs and learns why a …More