Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Summer Reading week 3


Welcome to the results of Week 3.  This week 32 people submitted entries, and 12 were new!  They read 91 books.  So far 60 people have submitted 263 entries, and 166 people have registered (26 just this week).



Aunt Dimity and the Village Witch
Aunt Dimity and the Village Witch
By Atherton, Nancy
2013-03 - Penguin Books
9780143122715 Check Our Catalog

When Amelia Thistle moves to Finch, her new neighbors welcome her with open arms--and inquiring minds. Amelia is, in fact, a world-famous artist with a rabid and eager-to-stalk fan base. In order to keep peace in Finch, Lori must help Amelia conceal her identity. …More


Life After Life
Life After Life
By Atkinson, Kate
2013-04 - Reagan Arthur Books
9780316176484 Check Our Catalog BookPage Notable Title

In 1910, Ursula Todd is born to an English banker and his wife. She dies before she can draw her first breath. On that same cold and snowy night, Ursula Todd is born, and embarks upon a life that will be unusual. Does Ursula's infinite number of lives give her the power to save the world from its inevitable destiny? …More


The Rope
The Rope
By Barr, Nevada
2012-08 - St. Martin's Press
9781250008671 Check Our Catalog

In "The Rope," Barr gathers together the many strings of Anna Pigeon's past and finally reveals the story of her first case. In 1995, 35-year-old Anna Pigeon takes a decidedly unglamorous job as a seasonal employee of the Glen Canyon National Recreational Area. On her day off, Anna goes hiking into the park never to return. Her co-workers think she's simply moved on--her cabin is cleaned out and her things gone. But Anna herself wakes up, trapped at the bottom of a dry natural well, naked, without supplies, and no clear memory of how she got herself in this situation. …More


Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy
Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy
By Bazelon, Emily
2013-02 - Random House
9780812992809 Check Our Catalog BookPage Notable Title


Being a teenager has never been easy, but in recent years, with the rise of the Internet and social media, it has become exponentially more challenging. Bullying, once thought of as the province of queen bees and goons, has taken on new, complex, and insidious forms, as parents and educators know all too well.
HPL Patron:  Devoured this non-fiction page turner in 3 days-couldn't put it down and told everyone I knew about it.  Investigative reporter and attorney Emily Bazelon profiles three teens involved in separate media sensations and tells the whole story of how schools, parents, and cyber culture allow bullies to run wild.  Then she interviews psychologists and educators about how to stop it.
…More

Busy Body
Busy Body
By Beaton, M. C.
2011-10 - Minotaur Books
9780312536503 Check Our Catalog

A Grinch-like health and safety inspector gets his comeuppance in this irresistible new Agatha Raisin mystery from the "New York Times"-bestselling reigning queen of cozies ("Booklist"). …More


Death of Yesterday
Death of Yesterday
By Beaton, M. C.
2013-03 - Grand Central Publishing
9781455504763 Check Our Catalog

When a local woman tells Sergeant Hamish Macbeth that she doesn't remember what happened the previous evening, he doesn't begin to worry. But when her body is discovered, Hamish is forced to investigate a crime that the only known witness--now dead--had forgotten. …More


I Am Half-Sick of Shadows
I Am Half-Sick of Shadows
By Bradley, Alan
2011-11 - Delacorte Press
9780385344012 Check Our Catalog


It's Christmastime, and the precocious Flavia de Luce--an 11-year-old sleuth with a passion for chemistry and a penchant for crime-solving--is tucked away in her laboratory, whipping up a concoction to ensnare Saint Nick. But she is soon distracted when a film crew arrives at Buckshaw, the de Luces' decaying English estate, to shoot a movie starring the famed Phyllis Wyvern.
HPL patron:  #4 in the Flavia de Luce novels.  Young Flavia, 11 years old, solves mystery with sheer ingenuity, curiosity, and doggedness.  She is a whiz at chemistry and lives in an old mansion with her own chemistry lab.
…More

A Red Herring Without Mustard: A Flavia de Luce Novel
A Red Herring Without Mustard: A Flavia de Luce Novel
By Bradley, Alan
2011-02 - Delacorte Press
9780385342322 Check Our Catalog BookPage Notable Title


In the third installment of Bradley's bestselling series, Flavia de Luce must clear a woman's name to prevent a grave injustice, while trying herself to avoid an early (and unjust) grave.
HPL patron:  #e in the Flavia de Luce novels.  They are easy, fun, entertaining reads.  Sweet without being childish.  Somewhat like the old time mystery writers.
…More

Speaking from Among the Bones: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Speaking from Among the Bones: A Flavia de Luce Novel
By Bradley, Alan
2013-01 - Delacorte Press
9780385344036 Check Our Catalog


From award-winning author Alan Bradley comes the next cozy British mystery starring intrepid young sleuth Flavia de Luce, hailed by "USA Today" as "one of the most remarkable creations in recent literature."
HPL patron:  #5 and most recent of the Flavia de Luce novels.  Makes for good summer reading as they are engrossing, not hard and fun to read.  Do read them in order---
…More

Inferno
Inferno
By Brown, Dan
2013-05 - Doubleday Books
9780385537858 Check Our Catalog

In his international blockbusters "The Da Vinci Code," "Angels & Demons," and "The Lost Symbol," Brown masterfully fused history, art, codes, and symbols. In this riveting new thriller, he returns to his element and has crafted his highest-stakes novel to date, featuring the Harvard professor of symbology, Robert Langdon. …More


The Journey
The Journey
By Brunstetter, Wanda E.
2011-04 - Barbour Publishing
9781602606814 Check Our Catalog

Journey along with Titus Fisher into a Kentucky Amish community where he seeks a new beginning and meets the beautiful and unique Suzanne Yoder. …More


The Little Amish Matchmaker: A Christmas Romance
The Little Amish Matchmaker: A Christmas Romance
By Byler, Linda
2012-09 - Good Books
9781561487769 Check Our Catalog

Simeon can't stop thinking about the pretty Amish teacher at the local one-room school. But he's ignored the sparks between them because he's so shy. So Simeon's little brother, Isaac, is taking matters into his own hands. …More


Being Nikki
Being Nikki
By Cabot, Meg
2010-04 - Point
9780545040587 Check Our Catalog

Ever since her brain had been transplanted into the body of teen supermodel Nikki Howard, tomboy Emerson Watts has been trying to handle school, modeling, and living with celebutante Lulu Collins, in this sequel to "Airhead." …More


The Mediator: Shadowland/Ninth Key
The Mediator: Shadowland/Ninth Key
By Cabot, Meg
2010-12 - Harper Teen
9780062040206 Check Our Catalog

This hauntingly entertaining bind-up contains the first two volumes of Cabot's action-packed paranormal series about a girl who helps ghosts move on from this world--whether they want to or not. …More


The Crimson Crown
The Crimson Crown
By Chima, Cinda Williams
2012-10 - Hyperion Books
9781423144335 Check Our Catalog

A simple, devastating truth concealed by a thousand-year-old lie at last comes to light in this stunning conclusion to the "New York Times"-bestselling Seven Realms series. …More


City of Fallen Angels
City of Fallen Angels
By Clare, Cassandra
2012-10 - Margaret K. McElderry Books
9781442403550 Check Our Catalog


Clary, Jace, and Simon are back in this thrilling fourth book of the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Who will be tempted by darkness? Who will fall in love? And who will betray everything they've ever believed in?
HPL patron:  I love the whole series.  It's a "young adult" book, and I'm an old woman!
…More

City of Lost Souls
City of Lost Souls
By Clare, Cassandra
2012-05 - Margaret K. McElderry Books
9781442416864 Check Our Catalog

The "New York Times"-bestselling Mortal Instruments continues. Can the lost be reclaimed? What price is too high to pay for love? Who can be trusted when sin and salvation collide? Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters. …More


In the Heat of the Bite
In the Heat of the Bite
By Dare, Lydia
2011-07 - Sourcebooks Casablanca
9781402245114 Check Our Catalog

Second in a trilogy of fresh original Regency vampire romances. When witch Rhiannon Sinclair meets Matthew Halkett, she discovers that romance and chivalry, like the charming earl, are far from dead. Original. …More


A Thousand Pardons
A Thousand Pardons
By Dee, Jonathan
2013-03 - Random House
9780812993219 Check Our Catalog BookPage Notable Title

For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? …More


Bliss Happens: The Six Week Plan to a Happier, Prettier, Thinner, and Richer Life
Bliss Happens: The Six Week Plan to a Happier, Prettier, Thinner, and Richer Life
By Douglas, Kym
2013-03 - Bird Street Books, Inc.
9780985462710 Check Our Catalog


"Bliss Happens" will magically transform your grocery list into a beauty regimen, turn your home into an oasis on a shoestring budget, and help you discover easy solutions in the midst of everyday dilemmas. From Beauty Bliss to Mom Bliss, Man Bliss and Body Bliss, Kym Douglas will have your family, home, body, health and schedule working together in perfect harmony in just SIX WEEKS!
HPL patron:  Not as good as I thought it'd be.
…More

The Dead Room
The Dead Room
By Ellis, Robert
2002-08 - Pinnacle Books
9780786014545 Check Our Catalog


When a woman is found brutally murdered in her own home, it kicks off an investigation into a bizarre string of murders all believed to have been committed by the same savage--and cunning--killer. As the city's panic rises, civil attorney Teddy Mack is thrown into the grisly case and into a world of dirty politics and corrupt justice. (August)
HPL patron:  Nash has always known his father was innocent.  Because of this he has been on a crusade to save men like his father.  Allan Andrews, on the other hand, has always been for the quick win.  Prove they are guilty because he says so.  When they go up against each other both worlds get turned upside down.  Truth becomes lies, lies become truths, innocence guilt and guilt innocence.
…More

Preacher Vol 07: Salvation
Preacher Vol 07: Salvation
By Ennis, Garth
Illustrator Dillon, Steve
Illustrator Fabry, Glenn
1999-09 - Vertigo
9781563895197 Check Our Catalog

…More


Dark Dreamers
Dark Dreamers
By Feehan, Christine
Author Liu, Marjorie M.
2007-02 - Wheeler Publishing
9781597224437 Check Our Catalog

She's known him since she was fifteen. Every night, he is with her: his face, his voice. Tonight, Sara Marten will meet the man who is both angel and demon, salvation and temptation: Falcon- the Carpathian, the banished hero. Tonight, Sara will meet the dark-eyed destroyer destined to be her mate. …More


Dark Guardian
Dark Guardian
By Feehan, Christine
2002-05 - Leisure Books
9780843949940 Check Our Catalog

After centuries of soulless existence as the dark guardian of his people, Lucian suddenly craves lady cop Jaxon Montgomery. Jaxx would sacrifice anything to shield others, particularly since a deadly menace dogs her every step. Oddly, Lucian, a born predator who ran with the wolves, vows to guard her for all time. …More