Saturday, October 12, 2013

Facebook

Lifehacker is reporting that Facebook is making everyone searchable.

"Facebook reminded people today that they're removing the "Who can look up your Timeline by name?" privacy setting, which means anyone can search for your profile on Facebook.
They started retiring this feature back in December of 2012, but according to Facebook's blog post today, the feature hasn't gone away for everyone just yet—but it will. That means your profile will be searchable again, so if you want to keep your information locked down, you should focus on what you post. It's very easy to limit your past posts so they don't show up to the public. We recommend giving all your privacy settings a once-over too, while you're at it. Hit the link to read more about the change.
Reminder: Finishing the Removal of an Old Search Setting | Facebook Newsroom"

To limit who can see your posts, go to the security settings (upper right hand corner, click on the little gear icon), then click on privacy settings.    Click on edit next to "Who can see my stuff  who can see your future posts".   Click on the level of security you want:

Who can see my stuff?

  • Close
    Who can see your future posts?
    You can manage the privacy of things you share by using the audience selector right where you post. This control remembers your selection so future posts will be shared with the same audience unless you change it.
    What's on your mind?














Your choices are Public, Friends, Friends except acquaintances, only me, custom, close friends, family.  "Public" means anyone can see it, "only me" would mean only you could see it.  Find the level you are comfortable with and you should be all set.  You can also change individual posts when you make them if you want.