Thursday, July 31, 2014

New Books at HPL


Below is a partial list of our new books. To see the full list, download the Excel file for 2014.  To see new books from other years try: 2013 , 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, or 2006.



Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932
Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932
By Prose, Francine
2014-04 - Harper Torch
9780061713781 Check Our Catalog A richly imagined and stunningly inventive story of love, art, and betrayal in Paris of the 20's, 30's, and 40's. …More


Otherwise Engaged
Otherwise Engaged
By Quick, Amanda
2014-04 - Putnam Adult
9780399165146 Check Our Catalog When Victorian world traveler Amity Doncaster meets an injured Benedict Stanbridge in a dark alley on a small Caribbean island, she saves his life and falls in love with him, leading them both into peril. …More


The Directive
The Directive
By Quirk, Matthew
2014-05 - Little Brown and Company
9780316198646 Check Our Catalog
HPL patron:  A fast paced novel of intrigue and betrayal.  A smart Harvard trained lawyer outsmarts a crooked FBI agent and his family's past in order to move on with his new live and wife.  Great book.
…More

The Rise & Fall of Great Powers
The Rise & Fall of Great Powers
By Rachman, Tom
2014-06 - Dial Press
9780679643654 Check Our Catalog For fans of Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers, and Donna Tartt--the brilliant, intricately woven new novel by Tom Rachman, author of "The Imperfectionists" …More


No Man's Nightingale: An Inspector Wexford Novel
No Man's Nightingale: An Inspector Wexford Novel
By Rendell, Ruth
2013-11 - Scribner Book Company
9781476744483 Check Our Catalog From crime legend Ruth Rendell, the gripping new novel in her "beloved" (USA Today) Inspector Wexford series, which will soon mark its fiftieth anniversary. …More


Money Maker
Money Maker
By Ridley, Tonya
2010-10 - Life Changing Books
9781934230695 Check Our Catalog Mena Austin is a certified paper chaser who knows no boundaries when it comes to money, especially the counterfeit kind. However, Mena s empire is threatened when her ex-boyfriend, Trick wants his operation back and will stop at nothing until he gets the ultimate revenge. When old friends turn into enemies and greed comes calling, Mena won t know who to trust. Money Maker will give an eye-opening …More


Love Comes Along: The Best MistakeLocal Hero
Love Comes Along: The Best MistakeLocal Hero
By Roberts, Nora
2014-04 - Silhouette Books
9780373281794 Check Our Catalog THE BEST MISTAKE
Ex-model Zoe Fleming is now a hardworking single mom--and she wouldn't have it any other way. Though she would like a tenant to share household expenses. What she gets is confirmed bachelor J. Cooper McKinnon. Coop quickly befriends her son and in no time has the reluctant Zoe charmed, too. But she has zero room in her life for a man Either this was a recipe for disaster or
…More


The Next Always
The Next Always
By Roberts, Nora
2011-11 - Berkley Publishing Group
9780425243213 Check Our Catalog "America's favorite writer" ("The New Yorker") begins a new trilogy inspired by the inn she owns and the town she loves. The historic hotel in Boonsboro, Maryland, has endured war and peace, changing hands, even rumored hauntings. Now it's getting a major facelift from the Montgomery brothers and their eccentric mother. As the architect of the family, Beckett's social life consists mostly of …More


Watching You
Watching You
By Robotham, Michael
2014-03 - Mulholland Books
9780316252003 Check Our Catalog
"New York Times" bestselling author Michael Robotham brings us face-to-face with a manipulative psychopath who has destroyed countless lives and is about to claim one final victim.
HPL patron:  It kept me interested and was easy to follow.  The end had a nice twist.  It didn't have much depth to it-I wouldn't recommend it to anyone as a …More


One Eyed Jack: The Uncovered Mystery of Clam River
One Eyed Jack: The Uncovered Mystery of Clam River
By Robotham, Rc
2013-01 - Createspace
9781480028326 Check Our Catalog A story that spans a century Starting with a young man in 1964 and weaving back through connections that reach to the Civil War Battle of the Wilderness in 1864, the story brings history alive. The young man overcomes the "fear by ignorance" to write poems with a widowed man living in what locally is believed to be a haunted cottage. Those same fears have to be overcome for the young man to reach …More


Attachments
Attachments
By Rowell, Rainbow
2011-04 - Dutton Books
9780525951988 Check Our Catalog Beth and Jennifer's company monitors their office e-mail. Lincoln is supposed to turn people in for misusing company e-mail, but he can't bring himself to crack down on Beth and Jennifer. By the time Lincoln realizes he's falling for Beth, it's too late for him to ever introduce himself. …More


A Better World
A Better World
By Sakey, Marcus
2014-06 - Thomas & Mercer
9781477823941 Check Our Catalog
The brilliants changed everything.
Since 1980, 1% of the world has been born with gifts we?d only dreamed of. The ability to sense a person's most intimate secrets, or predict the stock market, or move virtually unseen. For thirty years the world has struggled with a growing divide between the exceptional...and the rest of us.
Now a terrorist network led by brilliants has crippled three …More


China Dolls
China Dolls
By See, Lisa
2014-06 - Random House
9780812992892 Check Our Catalog The author of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love, and Shanghai Girls has garnered international acclaim for her great skill at rendering the intricate relationships of women and the complex meeting of history and fate. …More


Astonish Me
Astonish Me
By Shipstead, Maggie
2014-04 - Knopf Publishing Group
9780307962904 Check Our Catalog From the author of the widely acclaimed debut novel Seating Arrangements, winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize: a gorgeously written, fiercely compelling glimpse into the passionate, political world of professional ballet and its magnetic hold over two generations. …More


The English Girl
The English Girl
By Silva, Daniel
2013-07 - Harper Torch
9780062073167 Check Our Catalog Daniel Silva delivers another spectacular thriller starring Gabriel Allon, The English Girl. When a beautiful young British woman vanishes on the island of Corsica, a prime minister's career is threatened with destruction. Allon, the wayward son of Israeli intelligence, is thrust into a game of shadows where nothing is what it seems...and where the only thing more dangerous than his enemies might …More


The Farm
The Farm
By Smith, Tom Rob
2014-06 - Grand Central Publishing
9780446550734 Check Our Catalog The new international bestseller from the author of phenomenal Child 44 trilogy...
Daniel believed that his parents were enjoying a peaceful retirement on a remote farm in Sweden. But with a single phone call, everything changes.
Your mother...she's not well, his father tells him. She's been imagining things - terrible, terrible things. She's had a psychotic breakdown, and been committed to …More


Tit 4 Tat
Tit 4 Tat
By Strange, Alonzo L.
2010-06 - New Vision Publication
9780982677209 Check Our Catalog Having witnessed the brutal rape and murder of her mother, Myah Johnson is found frightened and alone in the closet of a Bronx apartment. After being adopted by her mother's only sister, she tries to live a normal life, but the nightmares are constant reminders of what happened that fatal night. Her mother's murder was never solved, so she vows to find the person responsible. But when Myah …More


Monster's Chef
Monster's Chef
By Tervalon, Jervey
2014-06 - Amistad Press
9780062316202 Check Our Catalog
From award-winning, bestselling author Jervey Tervalon comes an enthralling, twisting tale of suspense, drugs, perverse sex, and poisonous celebrity worship.
Gibson was once a successful chef enjoying the popularity of his hip New York City restaurant with his beautiful, loving wife. But Gibson also had a raging drug addiction that lurked in the background, threatening to ravage everything he …More


Nantucket Sisters
Nantucket Sisters
By Thayer, Nancy
2014-06 - Ballantine Books
9780345545480 Check Our Catalog NATIONAL BESTSELLER
Friendship takes center stage in "New York Times" bestselling author Nancy Thayer's captivating, emotionally charged novel featuring all the tenderness and wit, drama and romance that readers have come to expect from this insightful, much-loved writer.
When they meet as girls on a beach in Nantucket, Maggie Drew and Emma Hudson become fast friends--though Emma's
…More


Backstage: Street Chronicles
Backstage: Street Chronicles
By Turner, Nikki
With Dane, Dana
Featuring Turley, Harold L., II
2009-09 - One World
9780345504296 Check Our Catalog Turner, a "New York Times"-bestselling author and hip-hop aficionado, has selected four authors to join her in the latest installment of the Street Chronicles series. …More


All Fall Down
All Fall Down
By Weiner, Jennifer
2014-06 - Atria Books
9781451617788 Check Our Catalog From #1 "New York Times" bestselling author Jennifer Weiner
Allison Weiss got her happy ending--a handsome husband, adorable daughter, a job she loves, and the big house in the suburbs. But while waiting in the pediatrician's office, she opens a magazine to a quiz about addiction and starts to wonder...Is a Percocet at the end of the day really different from a glass of wine? Is it such a bad
…More


Robert the Bruce
Robert the Bruce
By Whyte, Jack
2013-08 - Forge
9780765331571 Check Our Catalog
From author Jack Whyte comes the true story of Robert the Bruce: a passionate man. An incredible warrior. And one of Scotland's finest.
Robert I, or as he is known to a grateful Scottish nation, Robert the Bruce, was one of Scotland's greatest kings, as well as one of the most famous warriors of his generation. He spearheaded the valiant Scots in their quest for freedom, leading his people …More


Sugar Walls
Sugar Walls
By Williams, Brittani
2007-12 - Urban Books
9781933967264 Check Our Catalog In this sexy, suspenseful slice of urban fiction, an ambitious womans love ofeasy money and fast living leads her to the brink of destruction. …More


Wildwood Creek
Wildwood Creek
By Wingate, Lisa
2014-02 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764208249 Check Our Catalog "With love and loss tangled together, how was she to know where her life would lead?
"
Allie Kirkland has always heard the call of her father's unfinished destiny. When she's offered a production assistant's job on a docudrama filming in the hills near Moses Lake, Texas, the dream of following in her director-father's footsteps suddenly seems within reach. The reenactment of the legendary
…More