Thursday, July 17, 2014

Staff PIcks

We like to read, and we like to share what we read! This is a list of recent favorites.
The Book Stops Here The Book Stops Here
By Carlisle, Kate
2014-06 - Obsidian Mysteries
9780451415981 Check Our Catalog
HPL patron:  Intelligent, humerous, and keeps you guessing.
…More
Lion Heart Lion Heart
By Cartwright, Justin
2014-03 - Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
9781620401835 Check Our Catalog
A contemporary tale of belief, identity, the nature of fiction and the power of romance, "Lion Heart "is Justin Cartwright's most inventive and powerful work to date. …More
Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas
By Robbins, Tom
1995-11 - Bantam
9780553377873 Check Our Catalog
When the stock market crashes on the Thursday before Easter, you -- an ambitious, although ineffectual and not entirely ethical young broker -- are
convinced you're facing the Weekend from Hell. Before the market reopens on Monday, you're going to have to scramble and scheme to cover your butt, but
there's no way you can anticipate the baffling disappearance of a 300-pound psychic, the fall 
…More
The Quick The Quick
By Owen, Lauren
2014-06 - Random House
9780812993271 Check Our Catalog
For fans of Anne Rice, "The Historian, "and" The Night Circus, "an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London
1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in 
…More