Monday, May 4, 2015

HPL's New Books


Below is a partial list of our new books. To see the full list, download the Excel file for 2015 .  To see new books from other years try: 2014  2013 , 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, or 2006.



Mightier Than the Sword
Mightier Than the Sword
By Archer, Jeffrey
2015-02 - St. Martin's Press
9781250034519 Check Our Catalog

"Mightier than the Sword" opens with an IRA bomb exploding during the MV "Buckingham's" maiden voyage across the Atlantic - but how many passengers lose their lives?

When Harry Clifton visits his publisher in New York, he learns that he has been elected as the new president of English PEN, and immediately launches a campaign for the release of a fellow author, Anatoly Babakov, who's
…More


The Cartel
The Cartel
By Ashley
Author JaQuavis
2009-01 - Urban Books
9781601621429 Check Our Catalog
Miamor is a skilled contract killer who loses her heart to a ruthless gangster's son--and becomes torn between love and revenge. …More


Daddy's House
Daddy's House
By Azarel
2007-10 - Life Changing Books
9781934230916 Check Our Catalog
Candice Holmes, 23, flees to New York City when a witness protection program fails her. She is introduced to Daddy who owns a house where little girls are doing big things. All comes to an end when she goes toe-to-toe with the vicious woman who has the ability to put her six feet under, or sell her to the highest bidder. …More


Sheisty: Triple Crown Publications Presents
Sheisty: Triple Crown Publications Presents
By Baker, T. N.
Editor Jackson, Kathleen
Editor Hilliard, Chloe A.
2004-02 - Triple Crown Publications
9780974789590 Check Our Catalog

Epiphany Wright, Keisha Moore and Shana Scott spent their teenage years as the best of friends growing up in the hood of Southside Jamaica Queens. Now as adults, their friendship is put to the test when envy, built up animosity, hidden betrayal and the bad boys in their lives cause havoc. Every day becomes a struggle to keep the clique tight. Every day something beats against the tried, …More


Killer, Come Hither
Killer, Come Hither
By Begley, Louis
2015-04 - Nan A. Talese
9780385539142 Check Our Catalog
From the master observer of upper-crust New York life comes a sly, pacey international thriller ranging from the suites of an elite Manhattan law firm to the tidy elegance of Sag Harbor and the rough and tumble western plains of Brazil.
Jack Dana, a star history student at Yale with a bright future in academia, feels called to military service after 9/11. His career as a Marine infantry
…More


The Dream Lover
The Dream Lover
By Berg, Elizabeth
2015-04 - Random House
9780812993158 Check Our Catalog
"New York Times "bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand--which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.
At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family's estate in the
…More


The Patriot Threat
The Patriot Threat
By Berry, Steve
2015-03 - Thorndike Press Large Print
9781410476227 Check Our Catalog
The 16th Amendment to the Constitution legalized federal income tax, but what if there were problems with the 1913 ratification of that amendment? Problems that call into question decades of tax collecting, and could even bring down the US economy. There is a surprising truth to this possibility - a truth wholly entertained by Steve Berry, a top-ten New York Times bestselling writer, in his new …More


The Patriot Threat
The Patriot Threat
By Berry, Steve
2015-03 - Minotaur Books
9781250056238 Check Our Catalog
The 16th Amendment to the Constitution is why Americans pay income taxes. But what if there were problems associated with that amendment? Secrets that call into question decades of tax collecting? In fact, there is a surprising truth to this hidden possibility.
Cotton Malone, once a member of an elite intelligence division within the Justice Department known as the Magellan Billet, is now …More


Keyshia and Clyde
Keyshia and Clyde
By Blue, Treasure E.
2008-08 - One World/Ballantine
9780345493293 Check Our Catalog

The "Essence"-bestselling author of "A Street Girl Named Desire" returns with a heartbreaking tale of two star-crossed lovers up against the dirtiest dealer Harlem has ever seen.
HPL patron:  This is about a young girl named Keyshia who has been neglected when she was young.  She had benn raped by her pastor at 11, who she also had a baby by...Then she meets a guy named …More


Gretel and the Case of the Missing Frog Prints
Gretel and the Case of the Missing Frog Prints
By Brackston, P. J.
Author Brackston, Paula
2015-04 - Thorndike Press
9781410478351 Check Our Catalog
Bavaria, 1776.
When Albrecht Durer the Much Much Younger's Frog Prints go missing, he knows exactly where to turn for help. Gretel (yes, that Gretel), now 35 and still living with her gluttonous brother Hans, is the country's most famous private investigator, and she leaps at the opportunity to travel to cosmopolitan Nuremberg to take on the case. But amid the hubbub of the city s annual …More


The Cavendon Women
The Cavendon Women
By Bradford, Barbara Taylor
2015-03 - St. Martin's Press
9781250032386 Check Our Catalog

"Cavendon Women, "the stunning sequel to Barbara Taylor Bradford's "Cavendon Hall" follows the Inghams' and the Swanns' journey from a family weekend in the summer of 1926 through to the devastation of the Wall Street crash of 1929. It all begins on a summer weekend in July of 1926 when, for the first time in years, the earl has planned a family weekend. As the family members come together, …More


The Whites
The Whites
By Price, Richard
Author Brandt, Harry
2015-02 - Henry Holt & Company
9780805093995 Check Our Catalog

The electrifying tale of a New York City police detective under siege-by an unsolved murder, by his own dark past, and by a violent stalker seeking revenge.

Back in the run-and-gun days of the mid-1990s, when a young Billy Graves worked in the South Bronx as part of an aggressive anti-crime unit known as the Wild Geese, he made headlines by accidentally shooting a ten-year-old boy while
…More


The Tomb in Turkey: A Fethering Mystery
The Tomb in Turkey: A Fethering Mystery
By Brett, Simon
2015-03 - Creme de La Crime
9781780290690 Check Our Catalog
" Carole and Jude s Turkish holiday takes a murderous turn in the new Fethering mystery"
Carole Seddon has never enjoyed holidays much. Nevertheless, she has allowed herself to be persuaded by her friend Jude to accept a fortnight s free accommodation at a luxurious Turkish villa owned by Jude s property developer friend Barney Willingdon. But from the outset the holiday is marred by a series
…More


The Luminaries
The Luminaries
By Catton, Eleanor
2013-10 - Little Brown and Company
9780316074315 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (2014), Dylan Thomas Prize (2014), Governor General's Literary Awards (2013), Man Booker Prize (2013)

Winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize, a breathtaking feat of storytelling where everything is connected, but nothing is as it seems.... It is 1866, and Walter Moody has come to make his fortune upon the New Zealand goldfields. On the stormy night of his arrival, he stumbles across a tense gathering of twelve local men, who have met in secret to discuss a series of unsolved crimes. A wealthy man …More


Happiness for Beginners
Happiness for Beginners
By Center, Katherine
2015-03 - St. Martin's Griffin
9781250047304 Check Our Catalog

A year after getting divorced, Helen Carpenter, thirty-two, lets her annoying, ten years younger brother talk her into signing up for a wilderness survival course. It's supposed to be a chance for her to pull herself together again, but when she discovers that her brother's even-more-annoying best friend is also coming on the trip, she can't imagine how it will be anything other than a …More


The Stranger
The Stranger
By Coben, Harlan
2015-03 - Thorndike Press Large Print
9781410476234 Check Our Catalog
Adam and Hannah confront the shocking secret on which their marriage is built - leaving Adam wondering whether he ever truly knew Hannah at all. …More


The Stranger
The Stranger
By Coben, Harlan
2015-03 - Dutton
9780525953500 Check Our Catalog
#1 New York Times bestselling master of suspense Harlan Coben delivers his most shocking thriller yet, proving that a well-placed lie can help build a wonderful life-- and a secret has the same explosive power to destroy it.
The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. His identity is unknown. His motives are unclear. His information is
…More


The Assassin
The Assassin
By Cussler, Clive
Author Scott, Justin
2015-03 - G.P. Putnam's Sons
9780399171758 Check Our Catalog
The new thriller in the #1 "New York Times"-bestselling Isaac Bell series from grand master of adventure Clive Cussler.
As Van Dorn private detective Isaac Bell strives to land a government contract to investigate John D. Rockefeller's Standard Oil monopoly, the case takes a deadly turn. A sniper begins murdering opponents of Standard Oil, and soon the assassin--shooting with extraordinary
…More


The Precious One
The Precious One
By de los Santos, Marisa
2015-03 - William Morrow & Company
9780061670893 Check Our Catalog

From the New York Times bestselling author of Belong to Me, Love Walked In, and Falling Together comes a captivating novel about friendship, family, second chances, and the redemptive power of love.
In all her life, Eustacia "Taisy" Cleary has given her heart to only three men: her first love, Ben Ransom; her twin brother, Marcus; and Wilson Cleary--professor, inventor, philanderer, self-made …More


One Night
One Night
By Dickey, Eric Jerome
2015-04 - Dutton
9780525954859 Check Our Catalog
The "New York Times" bestselling author checks in to the hotel of readers' dreams for an ardent romantic adventure that lasts just "One Night."
For one night, a couple checks in to an upscale hotel. The pair seem unlikely companions, from opposing strata of society, but their attraction is palpable to all who observe them--or overhear their cries of passion. In the course of twelve hours, con …More


Night Night, Sleep Tight: A Novel of Suspense
Night Night, Sleep Tight: A Novel of Suspense
By Ephron, Hallie
2015-03 - William Morrow & Company
9780062117632 Check Our Catalog

From the award-winning author of There Was an Old Woman comes a mystery tinged with Hollywood glamour, set in a town where fame and infamy are often interchangeable
Los Angeles, 1985. When Deirdre Unger makes the drive from San Diego to Beverly Hills to help her father put his dilapidated house on the market, she's expecting to deal with his usual kvetching and dark moods. But she gets a lot …More


Harlem Heat
Harlem Heat
By 50 Cent
Author Anthony, Mark
2007-07 - G-Unit
9781416549093 Check Our Catalog
From "Essence" bestselling author Anthony and hip hop kingpin 50 Cent comes this collection of gritty, true-to-life stories that tells the tales of sex, guns, and cash, and of the brutal highs and short lives of the players on the streets. …More