Thursday, June 29, 2017

Adult Summer Reading






Damaged
Damaged
By Scottoline, Lisa
2016-08 - St. Martin's Press
9781250099624 Check Our Catalog

"Scottoline writes riveting thrillers that keep me up all night, with plots that twist and turn." -Harlan Coben
One boy. One lawyer. One chance for justice.
Ten-year-old Patrick O'Brien is a natural target at school. Shy, dyslexic, and small for his age, he tries to hide his first-grade reading level from everyone: from his classmates, from the grandfather who cares for him, …More


One Perfect Lie
One Perfect Lie
By Scottoline, Lisa
2017-04 - St. Martin's Press
9781250099563 Check Our Catalog

"Scottoline keeps the pace relentless as she drops a looming threat into the heart of an idyllic suburban community, causing readers to hold their breath in anticipation." -Booklist
"Readers can be assured that the author nails the high school milieu, from athletic rivalries to sexting...they're in for one thrilling ride." -Kirkus Reviews
"Entertaining...This …More


Save Me
Save Me
By Scottoline, Lisa
2011-04 - St. Martin's Press
9780312380786 Check Our Catalog
From the "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Think Twice" and "Look Again" comes an emotionally powerful novel about a split-second choice, agonizing consequences, and the need for justice. "Save Me" will have readers wondering just how far they would go to save the ones they love. …More


The Autism & ADHD Diet: A Step-By-Step Guide to Hope and Healing by Living Gluten Free and Casein Free (GFCF) and Other Interventions
The Autism & ADHD Diet: A Step-By-Step Guide to Hope and Healing by Living Gluten Free and Casein Free (GFCF) and Other Interventions
By Silberberg, Barrie
2009-04 - Sourcebooks
9781402218453 Check Our Catalog

The Gluten-Free/Casein-Free (GFCF) Diet has proven to be very successful for autistic children in removing many of their autism traits and symptoms. "The Autism Diet" provides a detailed account of why this special diet and other interventions should be implemented.
HPL patron: Awesome info and recipes!
…More


Against All Odds
Against All Odds
By Steel, Danielle
2017-05 - Delacorte Press
9781101883914 Check Our Catalog
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The wise, moving new novel from Danielle Steel, whose many bestselling tales have made her one of America's favorite authors
Taking chances is part of life, but when you bet your future against the odds, it's a high-risk game. Kate Madison's stylish resale shop has been a big SoHo success, supporting her and her four kids since her husband's untimely …More


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
By Stein, Garth
2008-05 - HarperTorch
9780061537936 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Grand Canyon Reader Award (2012), Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award (2009)


Meet Enzo, the unforgettable canine narrator of this bittersweet and transformative story of family, love, loyalty, and hope. Enzo is a philosopher with a nearly human soul, and he's gained a wealth of knowledge from hours spent in front of the TV.
Have a box of kleenex by your side!  This story ends as a huge tear jerker, engendered by sadness and joys.  …More


Eating for Autism: The 10-Step Nutrition Plan to Help Treat Your Child's Autism, Asperger's, or ADHD
Eating for Autism: The 10-Step Nutrition Plan to Help Treat Your Child's Autism, Asperger's, or ADHD
By Strickland, Elizabeth
2009-04 - Da Capo Lifelong Books
9780738212432 Check Our Catalog
A breakthrough guide to the nutrition-autism connection: the foods, meals, and supplements to feed your child to improve an autism spectrum condition …More


Lifestyles of the Rich and Shameless
Lifestyles of the Rich and Shameless
By Swinson, Kiki
Author Noire
2011-12 - Dafina Books
9780758251800 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Street Literature Book Award Medal (Slbam) (2012)

Noire--the reigning queen of urban erotic fiction--and urban fiction star Swinson unite their talents in this too-hot-to-handle anthology that will appeal to fans of Wahida Clark and Nikki Turner. …More


Lumberjanes Sink or Swim: Vol.6
Lumberjanes Sink or Swim: Vol.6
By Watters, Shannon
2017-04 - Boom Box
9781608869541 Check Our Catalog
A crazy storm is coming and the Lumberjanes have to help their counselor Seafarin' Karen get her boat back from some renegade selkies.

Knot On Your Life

Camp is about more than just crafts and acquiring badges when you're a Lumberjane. When April, Jo, Mal, Molly, and Ripley all decide to learn more about the mysterious Seafarin' Karen, things take a turn for the strange.
…More


Revolutionary Medicine
Revolutionary Medicine
By Wilbur, C. Keith
1997-10 - Globe Pequot Press
9780762701391 Check Our Catalog
In 1775, when the staggering medical crisis known as the Revolutionary War exploded, less than 12 percent of the colonies' practicing physicians held a medical degree. And those few with degrees had graduated without ever seeing a patient. Here are their struggles, their strategies, their odd treatments, and their theories. From makeshift ambulances and wigwam hospitals to herbal drugs and …More



The Shack
The Shack
By Young, William Paul
2008-07 - Windblown Media
9780964729230 Check Our Catalog

A grieving father receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him to meet in the Oregon wilderness where his daughter has been abducted and murdered. In a world where religion seems to grow increasingly irrelevant, "The Shack" wrestles with the timeless question, "Where is God in a world so filled with unspeakable pain?" Windblown Media
HPL patron: …More