Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Staff Picks

Check here every month to see what the HPL staff recommends based on our reading.  You can also  find your next good book by stopping by or calling the Reference Desk, or by using our online form:  Your Next Good Book
Once We Were Sisters: A Memoir
Once We Were Sisters: A Memoir
By Kohler, Sheila
2017-01 - Penguin Books
9780143129295 Check Our Catalog
ONE OF PEOPLE MAGAZINE'S BEST NEW BOOKS

"A
searing and intimate memoir about love turned deadly." --The BBC

"An intimate illumination of sisterhood and loss." --People

When Sheila Kohler was thirty-seven, she received the heart-stopping news that her sister Maxine, only two years older, was killed when her husband drove
…More


Memories
Memories
By Leav, Lang
2015-10 - Andrews McMeel Publishing
9781449472399 Check Our Catalog
Best-selling poet Lang Leav presents a gorgeous hardcover gift book featuring the best of Lullabies and Love & Misadventure plus thirty-five new poems for fans to discover, along with original color illustrations by the author.
For fans of Lang Leav, this beautiful gift book is a must-have Beloved pieces from Lullabies and Love & Misadventure are collected together …More


X: A Novel
X: A Novel
By Shabazz, Ilyasah
2015-01 - Candlewick Press (MA)
9780763669676 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Coretta Scott King Award (2016), Michigan Notable Books (2016), National Book Awards (2015), Tayshas Reading (2016)

Winner of the 2016 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth/Teens

A 2016 Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book

Cowritten by Malcolm X's daughter, this riveting and revealing novel follows the formative years of the man whose words and actions shook the world.


Malcolm Little's parents have always told him that he can achieve anything, but
…More


An Atlas of Countries That Don't Exist: A Compendium of Fifty Unrecognized and Largely Unnoticed States
An Atlas of Countries That Don't Exist: A Compendium of Fifty Unrecognized and Largely Unnoticed States
By Middleton, Nick
2016-08 - Chronicle Books
9781452158686 Check Our Catalog
What is a country? Acclaimed travel writer and Oxford geography don Nick Middleton brings to life the origins and histories of 50 states that, lacking international recognition and United Nations membership, exist on the margins of legitimacy in the global order. From long-contested lands like Crimea and Tibet to lesser-known territories such as Africa's last colony and a European republic that …More


Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis
Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis
By Egan, Timothy
2012-10 - Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH)
9780618969029 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
ALA Notable Books (2013), Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence (2013), Chautauqua Prize (2013)

How a lone man's epic obsession led to one of America's greatest cultural treasures: Prize-winning writer Timothy Egan tells the riveting, cinematic story behind the most famous photographs in Native American history -- and the driven, brilliant man who made them. …More


The Woman in Cabin 10
The Woman in Cabin 10
By Ware, Ruth
2016-07 - Gallery/Scout Press
9781501132933 Check Our Catalog
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER
FROM THE AUTHOR OF IN A DARK, DARK WOOD
Featured in TheSkimm
An Entertainment Weekly "Summer Must List" Pick
A New York Post "Summer Must-Read" Pick
Included in Summer Book Guides from Bustle, Oprah.com, PureWow, and USA TODAY
From New York Times bestselling author …More


Black Rabbit Hall
Black Rabbit Hall
By Chase, Eve
2016-02 - G.P. Putnam's Sons
9780399174124 Check Our Catalog
For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, here's a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family's country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect,
…More


Beautiful Ruins
Beautiful Ruins
By Walter, Jess
2012-06 - Harper
9780061928123 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Indies Choice Book Awards (2013)

The acclaimed, award-winning author of the national bestseller "The Financial Lives of the Poets" returns with his funniest and most romantic novel yet: the story of an almost-love affair that begins on the Italian coast in 1962 and is rekindled in Hollywood 50 years later. …More


Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932
Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932
By Prose, Francine
2014-04 - HarperTorch
9780061713781 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Lambda Literary Awards (2015)

A richly imagined and stunningly inventive story of love, art, and betrayal in Paris of the 20's, 30's, and 40's. …More


The Shadow Land
The Shadow Land
By Kostova, Elizabeth
2017-04 - Ballantine Books
9780345527868 Check Our Catalog
From the #1 bestselling author of The Historian comes a mesmerizing novel that spans the past and the present--and unearths the troubled history of a gorgeous but haunted country.
A young American woman, Alexandra Boyd, has traveled to Sofia, Bulgaria, hoping that life abroad will salve the wounds left by the loss of her beloved brother. Soon after arriving in this elegant …More



The Invention of Hugo Cabret
The Invention of Hugo Cabret
By Selznick, Brian
2007-03 - Scholastic Press
9780439813785 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Bluebonnet Awards (2009), Book Sense Book of the Year Award (2008), Caldecott Medal (2008), Capitol Choices: Noteworthy Books for Children and Teens (2008), Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award (2009), Flicker Tale Children's Book Award (2009), Garden State Teen Book Award (2010), Golden Archer Award (2009), Golden Archer Award (2011), Grand Canyon Reader Award (2009), Iowa Children's Choice (ICCA) Award (2010), Kentucky Bluegrass Award (2008), Maine Student Book Award (2009), National Book Awards (2007), Nene Award (2009), Nene Award (2010), Nene Award (2011), Nene Award (2012), New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association Award (2007), North Carolina Children's Book Award (2008), Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award (2009), Quill Awards (2007), Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award (2009), Volunteer State Book Awards (2010), Young Reader's Choice Award (2010)

Orphan, clock keeper, thief: Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. Combining elements of picture book, graphic novel, and film, Caldecott Honor artist Selznick breaks open the novel form to create an entirely new reading experience in this intricate, tender and spellbinding mystery. …More