Wednesday, August 15, 2012

HPL's New Books


Below is a partial list of our new books. To see the full list, download the Excel file for: 2012.  To see new books from other years try:  2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, or 2006.



To sign up for this, or any of our newsletters, check out our Newsletter sign up page.
Porch Lights
Porch Lights
By Frank, Dorothea Benton
2012-06 - William Morrow & Company
9780061961298 Check Our Catalog

"New York Times"-bestselling author Frank is back home in the Carolina low country, spinning a tale that brims with the warmth, charm, heart, and humor that has become her trademark. …More


Spilled Blood
Spilled Blood
By Freeman, Brian
2012-05 - Silveroak
9781402798122 Check Our Catalog

A taut thriller about two rural Minnesota towns locked in a deadly feud--and a teenage girl caught in the crossfire. And looming over everything are the chilling, apocalyptic threats from a murderous psychopath known only as "Aquarius." …More


The Way Back Home
The Way Back Home
By Freethy, Barbara
2012-06 - Pocket Books
9781451636543 Check Our Catalog

…More


Broken Harbor
Broken Harbor
By French, Tana
2012-07 - Viking Books
9780670023653 Check Our Catalog BookPage Notable Title

With her signature blend of police procedural and psychological thriller, French's fourth book of the Dublin murder squad goes full throttle with a heinous crime, creating her most complicated detective character and her best book yet. …More


The Ideal Man
The Ideal Man
By Garwood, Julie
2011-08 - Dutton Books
9780525952251 Check Our Catalog

Dr. Ellie Sullivan has just completed her residency at a large urban hospital. While jogging in a park nearby, she witnesses the shooting of an FBI agent in pursuit of wanted criminals, a couple identified as the Landrys. The only person to see the shooter's face, Ellie is suddenly at the center of a criminal investigation. …More


Rescue Me
Rescue Me
By Gibson, Rachel
2012-05 - Avon Books
9780062069122 Check Our Catalog

She's 33, unmarried, and stuffed into a Bubble Yum-pink bridesmaid dress. And the whole town wants to fix her up with anyone with a dental plan. Who's going to rescue Sadie Hallowell now? Original. …More


Where We Belong
Where We Belong
By Giffin, Emily
2012-07 - St. Martin's Press
9780312554194 Check Our Catalog

Giffin, the author of five blockbuster novels, delivers an unforgettable story of two women, the families that make them who they are, and the longing, loyalty and love that binds them together set in New York City. …More


Cry Revenge
Cry Revenge
By Goines, Donald, Jr.
2007-05 - Holloway House Publishing Company
9780870679872 Check Our Catalog

…More


Dopefiend
Dopefiend
By Goines, Donald, Jr.
2006-11 - Holloway House Publishing Company
9780870679384 Check Our Catalog

…More


Inner City Hoodlum
Inner City Hoodlum
By Goines, Donald, Jr.
1992-08 - Holloway House Publishing Company
9780870679995 Check Our Catalog

…More


Kenyatta's Last Hit
Kenyatta's Last Hit
By Goines, Donald, Jr.
2007-08 - Holloway House Publishing Company
9780870679445 Check Our Catalog

…More


Never Die Alone
Never Die Alone
By Goines, Donald, Jr.
2000-09 - Holloway House Publishing Company
9780870679971 Check Our Catalog

…More


Swamp Man
Swamp Man
By Goines, Donald, Jr.
2007-04 - Holloway House Publishing Company
9780870679476 Check Our Catalog

…More


Ascension
Ascension
By Golden, Christie
2011-08 - Lucas Books
9780345509161 Check Our Catalog

"How long can the Jedi remain in power?"
"How far will the Sith go to rule supreme?"
"What chance do both stand against Abeloth?"
As Luke and Ben Skywalker pursue the formidable dark-side being Abeloth, the Lost Tribe of the Sith is about to be sundered by an even greater power--which will thrust one Dark Lord into mortal conflict with his own flesh-and-blood.
On Coruscant, a political vacuum has left tensions at the boiling point, with factions racing to claim control of the Galactic Alliance. Suddenly surrounded by hidden agendas, treacherous conspiracies, and covert Sith agents, the Jedi Order must struggle to keep the GA government from collapsing into anarchy.
The Jedi are committed to maintaining peace and ensuring just rule, but even they are not prepared to take on the combined threats of Sith power, a deposed dictator bent on galaxywide vengeance, and an entity of pure cunning and profound evil hungry to become a god.
…More


Dark Karma
Dark Karma
By Gray, Joyce Veranda
2007-06 - Urban Books
9781933967127 Check Our Catalog

Grays suspenseful, thought-provoking novel explores what happens when criminals are confronted with the results of their crimes. …More


Sarah Thornhill
Sarah Thornhill
By Grenville, Kate
2012-06 - Grove Press
9780802120243 Check Our Catalog

In the final book of a trilogy that began with her bestselling novel, "The Secret River," Grenville returns to the youngest daughter of the Thornhills and her quest to uncover, at her peril, the family's hidden legacy. …More


Eyes Wide Open
Eyes Wide Open
By Gross, Andrew
2012-05 - Harper
9780061656026 Check Our Catalog

A family's long-buried past resurfaces with deadly consequences in this electrifying thriller from the "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Reckless." Available in a tall Premium Edition. …More


15 Seconds
15 Seconds
By Gross, Andrew
2012-07 - William Morrow & Company
9780061655975 Check Our Catalog

Gross delivers an electrifying, lightning-paced story of a desperate man on the run, trying to save his family from the faceless enemy that's determined to destroy them all. A gripping tale of a life turned upside-down is a must for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci, and Lisa Gardner. …More


Cottage by the Sea
Cottage by the Sea
By Gunn, Robin Jones
2012-07 - Howard Books
9781416583455 Check Our Catalog

From bestselling and award-winning author Gunn comes a poignant novel about a woman who must care for her ill and elderly father, hoping to mend both his health and their relationship. In the many hours she spends beside her father, Erin finds a treasure hidden in the darkness. She reaches out and, at long last, receives the gift of healing. …More


Hit List
Hit List
By Hamilton, Laurell K.
2011-06 - Berkley Publishing Group
9780425241134 Check Our Catalog

The #1 "New York Times"-bestselling Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series continues. Word has leaked to Anita Blake that hitmen are headed for St. Louis--and that she, Jean-Claude, and Richard are the targets. …More


Kiss the Dead
Kiss the Dead
By Hamilton, Laurell K.
2012-06 - Berkley Publishing Group
9780425247549 Check Our Catalog


When a 15-year-old girl is abducted by vampires, it's up to U.S. Marshal Anita Blake to find her. And when she does, she's faced with something she's never seen: a terrifyingly ordinary group of people all willing to die to avoid serving a master.
Vampires, wereleopards, and werewolves, oh my!  One of the sexiest paranormal stories you can find on the shelves.  Mixed with a graphic police drama, these pages sizzle.
…More

Die a Stranger: An Alex McKnight Novel
Die a Stranger: An Alex McKnight Novel
By Hamilton, Steve
2012-07 - Minotaur Books
9780312640217 Check Our Catalog

The newest novel by two-time Edgar award-winner and "New York Times"-bestselling author Hamilton about a mysterious plane on a deserted Upper Peninsula airstrip filled with five dead bodies. …More


Full Figured 3: Carl Weber Presents
Full Figured 3: Carl Weber Presents
By Hampton, Brenda
Author Nikki-Michelle
2011-09 - Urban Books
9781601623157 Check Our Catalog