Thursday, May 19, 2016

New Fiction at HPL





To see if the book is in, or to place a hold, click on the "Check our Catalog" link.  To see the full list of our new books download the Excel file for 2016 .  To see new books from other years try: 2015, 2014 , 2013 , 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, or 2006.
Chaser
Chaser
By Miasha
2009-07 - Touchstone Books
9781416589860 Check Our Catalog
From the bestselling author of "Never Enough" comes a novel about two young lovers who will stop at nothing to succeed. "Chaser" is set in the gritty, urban world of wreck-chasing, where even ex-cons can earn doctors' salaries. …More


Sistah for Sale
Sistah for Sale
By Miasha
2008-03 - Touchstone Books
9781416553373 Check Our Catalog
Miasha's talent for jaw-dropping plot twists and sizzling scenarios is at its wildest and best in this compelling urban drama that delivers lust, sex, lies, and intrigue in a nail-biting, gripping ride about a beautiful, young orphan desperate to survive the dangers of the sex-trade industry. …More


The McKettrick Way: Mountain Sheriff
The McKettrick Way: Mountain Sheriff
By Miller, Linda Lael
Author Daniels, B. J.
2016-02 - Harlequin
9780373010448 Check Our Catalog
THE PRIDE OF THE McKETTRICKS

Some things just feel like home. For Meg McKettrick that's the Circle M ranch in Indian Rock, Arizonaand Brad O'Ballivan. She loved the quiet rodeo cowboy once, and she never quite managed to stop, even when he left for bigger and better things. Now they've both returned home and neither can resist picking up where they left off. But what if claiming one
…More


Once a Rancher
Once a Rancher
By Miller, Linda Lael
2016-03 - Harlequin Books
9780373779680 Check Our Catalog
The Carsons of Mustang Creek: three men who embody the West and define what it means to be a rancher, a cowboy and a hero in this brand-new series from the queen of Western romance

SLATER CARSON might be a filmmaker by trade, but he's still a cowboy at heartand he knows the value of a hard day's work under the hot Wyoming sun. So when he sees troubled teen Ryder heading down a
…More


God Don't Make No Mistakes
God Don't Make No Mistakes
By Monroe, Mary
2012-05 - Dafina Books
9780758238634 Check Our Catalog
The bestselling author of "Mama Ruby" and "God Ain't Through Yet" returns with the long-awaited conclusion to her much-loved and bestselling God series, where two forever friends face big betrayals in their family and home lives. …More


She Had It Coming
She Had It Coming
By Monroe, Mary
2008-09 - Dafina Books
9780758212191 Check Our Catalog
A remarkable talent ("Chicago Sun-Times") delivers a powerful and provocative new page-turner about one woman's search for love in a world where secrets don't always stay hidden, and the choices made in one rash moment can change everything. …More


Chasing the North Star
Chasing the North Star
By Morgan, Robert
2016-04 - Algonquin Books
9781565126275 Check Our Catalog
In his latest historical novel, bestselling author Robert Morgan brings to full and vivid life the story of Jonah Williams, who, in 1850, on his eighteenth birthday, flees the South Carolina plantation on which he was born a slave. He takes with him only a few stolen coins, a knife, and the clothes on his back--no shoes, no map, no clear idea of where to head, except north, following a star that …More


The Taxidermist's Daughter
The Taxidermist's Daughter
By Mosse, Kate
2016-03 - William Morrow & Company
9780062402158 Check Our Catalog

A chilling and spooky Gothic historical thriller reminiscent of Rebecca and The Turn of the Screw, dripping with the dark twists and eerie surprises that are the hallmarks of Edgar Allan Poe, from the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of Citadel.
In a remote village near the English coast, residents gather in a misty churchyard. More than a decade into the twentieth …More


Sleeping Giants
Sleeping Giants
By Neuvel, Sylvain
2016-04 - Del Rey Books
9781101886694 Check Our Catalog
A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, "World War Z, "and" The Martian, " "Sleeping Giants" is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with
…More


Uprooted
Uprooted
By Novik, Naomi
2015-05 - Del Rey Books
9780804179034 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Nebula Awards (2015)

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR -BuzzFeed - Tor.com - BookPage -Library Journal - Publishers Weekly

Naomi Novik, author of the "New York Times" bestselling and critically acclaimed Temeraire novels, introduces a bold new world rooted in folk stories and legends, as elemental as a Grimm fairy tale.

"Uprooted" is confidently wrought and sympathetically cast. I
…More


Even in Paradise
Even in Paradise
By Nunez, Elizabeth
2016-04 - Akashic Books
9781617754395 Check Our Catalog
""King Lear" in the Caribbeanexcept in this novel, the flattery and deceit of Glynis (Goneril) and Rebecca (Regan) lose out to the principled, honest love of their younger sister, Corinne (Cordelia)."

--"O, the Oprah Magazine," 10 Titles to Pick Up Now

"An epic tale of family betrayal and manipulation couched in superbly engaging prose and peopled with deftly drawn
…More


City of Secrets
City of Secrets
By O'Nan, Stewart
2016-04 - Viking
9780670785964 Check Our Catalog
Stewart O Nan s"City of Secrets"will keep you up all night reading what a beautifully crafted novel. Alan Furst, "New York Times"bestselling author of"Mission to Paris"

From master storyteller Stewart O'Nan, a timely moral thriller of the Jewish underground resistance in Jerusalem after the Second World War

In 1945, with no homes to return to, Jewish refugees by the tens of
…More


The Body in the Wardrobe
The Body in the Wardrobe
By Page, Katherine Hall
2016-04 - William Morrow & Company
9780062439505 Check Our Catalog

Minster's wife, caterer, and part-time sleuth Faith Fairchild pairs up with Sophie Maxwell, last seen in Body in the Birches and now a newlywed living in historic Savannah, Georgia, where Sophie crosses paths with murder. Another delightful entry in the beloved mystery series, complete with delectable recipes.
Attorney Sophie Maxwell has come to Savannah to be with her new husband, Will. But …More


The Midwife's Dilemma
The Midwife's Dilemma
By Parr, Delia
2016-04 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764217357 Check Our Catalog
Delia Parr's Delightful Midwife Series Concludes

Midwife Martha Cade has decided. When he returns in February, she is going to marry Mayor Thomas Dillon. That is the only decision in life in which she feels confident these days. Everything else around her feels like it's changing too fast, from her daughter's obvious affection for the town's young doctor to Martha realizing she's ready
…More


'Til Death Do Us Part
'Til Death Do Us Part
By Quick, Amanda
2016-04 - Berkley Books
9780399174469 Check Our Catalog
The author of the "New York Times" bestseller "Garden of Lies" returns to Victorian London in an all-new novel of deadly obsession.

Calista Langley operates an exclusive introduction agency in Victorian London, catering to respectable ladies and gentlemen who find themselves alone in the world. But now, a dangerously obsessed individual has begun sending her trinkets and gifts suitable
…More


Miller's Valley
Miller's Valley
By Quindlen, Anna
2016-04 - Random House
9780812996081 Check Our Catalog
Filled with insights that are hallmarks of Anna Quindlen's bestsellers, this extraordinary novel is about a woman coming of age, as she unearths secrets about her family and her town, and surprising truths about herself. …More


Because of Miss Bridgerton
Because of Miss Bridgerton
By Quinn, Julia
2016-03 - Avon Books
9780062465825 Check Our Catalog

Sometimes you find love in the most unexpected places . . .
This is not one of those times.
Everyone expects Billie Bridgerton to marry one of the Rokesby brothers. The two families have been neighbors for centuries, and as a child the tomboyish Billie ran wild with Edward and Andrew. Either one would make a perfect husband . . . someday.
Sometimes you fall in love with exactly the person …More


Chasing Passion: Falling for Rachel\Convincing Alex
Chasing Passion: Falling for Rachel\Convincing Alex
By Roberts, Nora
2016-02 - Silhouette Books
9780373282104 Check Our Catalog
The unforgettable Stanislaskis return in this pair of stories from #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts

Falling for Rachel

Landlocked in Manhattan, rugged seaman Zack Muldoon needs a tough, no-nonsense lawyer to save his kid brother's delinquent hide. Public defender Rachel Stanislaski is not what he has in minduntil he discovers there's a lot more to the
…More


The Obsession
The Obsession
By Roberts, Nora
2016-04 - Berkley Books
9780399175169 Check Our Catalog
The riveting new novel from the #1 "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Liar."

" She stood in the deep, dark woods, breath shallow and cold prickling over her skin despite the hot, heavy air. She took a step back, then two, as the urge to run fell over her. "

Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped
…More


Close Your Eyes
Close Your Eyes
By Robotham, Michael
2016-04 - Mulholland Books
9780316267946 Check Our Catalog
#1 International Bestseller

"Close Your Eyes: the best Michael Robotham novel yet. Once I reached the last 100 pages, it really was impossible to put down." --Stephen King

When a former student bungles a murder investigation, clinical psychologist Joseph O'Loughlin steps in to face a ruthless killer.

A mother and her teenage daughter are found murdered in a remote
…More


Now and Again
Now and Again
By Rogan, Charlotte
2016-04 - Little Brown and Company
9780316380935 Check Our Catalog
A provocative novel about the fallout from a search for truth by the author of the national bestseller "The Lifeboat.

"For Maggie Rayburn--wife, mother, and secretary at a munitions plant--life is pleasant, predictable, and, she assumes, secure. When she finds proof of a high-level cover-up on her boss's desk, she impulsively takes it, an act that turns her world, and her worldview,
…More


War Hawk
War Hawk
By Rollins, James
Author Blackwood, Grant
2016-04 - William Morrow & Company
9780062135278 Check Our Catalog

Former Army Ranger Tucker Wayne and his war dog Kane are thrust into a global conspiracy that threatens to shake the foundations of American democracy in this second exciting Sigma Force spinoff adventure from New York Times bestselling authors James Rollins and Grant Blackwood.
Tucker Wayne's past and his present collide when a former army colleague comes to him for help. She's on the run …More


Bedroom Bully
Bedroom Bully
By Russell, Trista
2010-01 - Pocket Books
9781416553922 Check Our Catalog

Russell, author of "Going Broke" and "Dead Broke," turns up the heat in this erotic urban tale featuring a powerful attraction between a fugitive and the woman he is holding captive.
Bedroom Bully is the story of a woman who falls in love with an accidental killer with a big heart.  Dean and Audra had a fairytale without the happy …More



Extreme Prey
Extreme Prey
By Sandford, John
2016-04 - G.P. Putnam's Sons
9780399176050 Check Our Catalog
The extraordinary new Lucas Davenport thriller from #1"New York Times" bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner John Sandford.

After the events in "Gathering Prey," Lucas Davenport finds himself in a very unusual situation no longer employed by the Minnesota BCA. His friend the governor is just cranking up a presidential campaign, though, and he invites Lucas to come along as part
…More