Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Staff Picks

We like to read, and we like to share what we read! This is a list of recent favorites.
STAFF PICKS

Garden for the Blind
Garden for the Blind
By Fordon, Kelly
2015-04 - Wayne State University Press
9780814341049 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Michigan Notable Books (2016)


In "Garden for the Blind, "trouble lurks just outside the door for Kelly Fordon's diverse yet interdependent characters. As a young girl growing up in an affluent suburb bordering Detroit, Alice Townley witnesses a tragic accident at her parents' lavish party. In the years that follow, Alice is left mostly in the care of the household staff, free to forge friendships with other pampered and …More


Scrapper
Scrapper
By Bell, Matt
2015-09 - Soho Press
9781616955212 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Michigan Notable Books (2016)

For fans of "The Dog Stars" and "Station Eleven," "Scrapper" traces one man's desperate quest for redemption in a devastated Detroit.

"Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy's "The Road" set in present-day Motor City... powerful."

"Publishers Weekly"

Detroit has descended into ruin. Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part
…More


Aya
Aya
By Abouet, Marguerite
Illustrator Oubrerie, Clement
2007-02 - Drawn & Quarterly
9781894937900 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
Quill Awards (2007)

Nineteen-year-old Aya, her easygoing friends Adjoua and Bintou, and their meddling relatives and neighbors star in this breezy and wryly funny story of the simple pleasures and private troubles of everyday life in Yopougon, a.k.a. Yop City. Full color. Young adult. …More


Love of the Game
Love of the Game
By Wilde, Lori
2016-04 - Avon Books
9780062311436 Check Our Catalog

A sexy sports superstar discovers his body isn't the only thing that needs healing in this newest Stardust, Texas novel from New York Times bestselling author Lori Wilde.
With major league good looks and talent, Dallas Gunslingers relief pitcher Axel Richmond was living the good life. Even if the roar of the crowd could never distract him from the loss of his young son. But now with an …More


Best of My Love
Best of My Love
By Mallery, Susan
2016-04 - Harlequin Books
9780373789191 Check Our Catalog
"An irresistible new love story from the #1 "New York Times" bestselling author of the Fool's Gold series, set in a town "Library Journal" calls "so appealing, readers will want to start scoping out real estate.""

To overcome her painful past, baker Shelby Gilmore goes on the hunt for a frienda "male" friendto convince her stubborn psyche that men can be trusted. But where in a town as
…More


Shadow Play: An Eve Duncan Novel
Shadow Play: An Eve Duncan Novel
By Johansen, Iris
2015-09 - St. Martin's Press
9781250020109 Check Our Catalog

Eve Duncan: the most sought-after artist in the field of forensic sculpting. Dedicated to her work ever since her daughter Bonnie was taken and killed at the age of seven, Eve feels a sense of duty to those whose lives were lost and whose bones are now in her hands.
When a sheriff in California contacts her with a request for help on the reconstruction of the skull of a girl whose body has …More


Hide Away
Hide Away
By Johansen, Iris
2016-04 - St. Martin's Press
9781250075826 Check Our Catalog

DARK SECRETS

World-famous forensic sculptor Eve Duncan has landed in a well-guarded hospital room in Carmel, California. But hidden danger looms for Eve, her beloved Joe Quinn, and Cara Delaney, the young girl they've both sworn to protect. With Cara's enemies on the move, Eve has no choice but to flee the hospital no matter what the doctors say. Her protective instincts in full
…More


The Lost Book of Moses: The Hunt for the World's Oldest Bible
The Lost Book of Moses: The Hunt for the World's Oldest Bible
By Tigay, Chanan
2016-04 - Ecco Press
9780062206411 Check Our Catalog

A gripping account of one man's quest to find the world's oldest bible, and to solve the riddle of the man accused of forging it
In the summer of 1883, Moses Wilhelm Shapira archaeological treasure hunter, inveterate social climber, and denizen of Jerusalem's bustling marketplace arrived unannounced in London claiming to have discovered the world's oldest Bible scroll. Written centuries …More


Wit's End
Wit's End
By Fowler, Karen Joy
2008-05 - Putnam Adult
9780399154751 Check Our Catalog
The author of The Jane Austen Book Club presents another highly inventive novel, one that ensnares readers in cunning deceptions, challenging them to separate the truth from fiction. …More


The Little Paris Bookshop
The Little Paris Bookshop
By George, Nina
2015-06 - Crown Publishing Group (NY)
9780553418774 Check Our Catalog


HPL patron: Magical and sad yet the funny parts lift it up. For Perdu to have lost Manon-at the beginning you think he's a much older man. Then on his travel and discovery, everything changes and you see him as he really is. Lovely story.
…More



Pax
Pax
By Pennypacker, Sara
Illustrator Klassen, Jon
2016-02 - Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
9780062377012 Check Our Catalog
From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.
Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and …More