Tuesday, July 5, 2016

New Books at HPL



Bloom and Doom
Bloom and Doom
By Allen, Beverly
2014-10 - Premier Mystery Series
9781628992472 Check Our Catalog
As the co-owner of The Rose in Bloom, Audrey Bloom creates magnificent flower arrangements for brides to be. Though helping to plan a wedding can be stressful, it's nothing compared to the groom turning up dead. …More


Played by the Book: A Novel Idea Mystery
Played by the Book: A Novel Idea Mystery
By Arlington, Lucy
2015-06 - Center Point
9781628995923 Check Our Catalog
Lila Wilkins, literary agent and "murder magnet," is planning a book signing garden party. But things aren't coming up roses when she has to weed out a dangerous killer . . . …More


War Factory
War Factory
By Asher, Neal
2016-05 - Night Shade Books
9781597808347 Check Our Catalog
Thorvald Spear, resurrected from his death over a hundred years earlier, continues to hunt Penny Royal, the rogue AI and dangerous war criminal on the run from Polity forces. Beyond the Graveyard, a lawless and deadly area in deep space, Spear follows the trail of several enemy Prador, the crab-like alien species with a violent history of conflict with humanity.

Sverl, a Prador
…More


The Last Mile
The Last Mile
By Baldacci, David
2016-04 - Grand Central Publishing
9781455586455 Check Our Catalog
In his #1 "New York Times "bestseller "Memory Man," David Baldacci introduced the extraordinary detective Amos Decker-the man who can forget nothing. Now, Decker returns in a spectacular new thriller . . .

THE LAST MILE

Convicted murderer Melvin Mars is counting down the last hours before his execution--for the violent killing of his parents twenty years earlier--when he's
…More


Only Beloved
Only Beloved
By Balogh, Mary
2016-05 - Signet Book
9780451477781 Check Our Catalog
From the legendary "New York Times" bestselling author of "Only a Kiss "and "Only a Promise" comes the final book in the rapturous Survivor's Club series as the future of one man lies within the heart of a lost but never-forgotten love...

For the first time since the death of his wife, the Duke of Stanbrook is considering remarrying and finally embracing happiness for himself. With
…More


The Book of Esther
The Book of Esther
By Barton, Emily
2016-06 - Tim Duggan Books
9781101904091 Check Our Catalog
What if an empire of Jewish warriors that really existed in the Middle Ages had never fallen and was the only thing standing between Hitler and his conquest of Russia?

Eastern Europe, August 1942. The Khazar kaganate, an isolated nation of Turkic warrior Jews, lies between the Pontus Euxinus (the Black Sea) and the Khazar Sea (the Caspian). It also happens to lie between a belligerent
…More


The Whale: A Love Story
The Whale: A Love Story
By Beauregard, Mark
2016-06 - Viking
9780399562334 Check Our Catalog
A rich and captivating novel set amid the witty, high-spirited literary society of 1850s New England, offering a new window on Herman Melville's emotionally charged relationship with Nathaniel Hawthorne and how it transformed his masterpiece, "Moby-Dick"

In the summer of 1850, Herman Melville finds himself hounded by creditors and afraid his writing career might be coming to an end his
…More


And After the Fire
And After the Fire
By Belfer, Lauren
2016-05 - Harper
9780062428516 Check Our Catalog

The New York Times-bestselling author of A Fierce Radiance and City of Light returns with a new powerful and passionate novel inspired by historical events about two women, one European and one American, and the mysterious choral masterpiece by Johann Sebastian Bach that changes both their lives.
In the ruins of Germany in 1945, at the end of World War II, American soldier Henry Sachs takes a …More


June
June
By Beverly-Whittemore, Miranda
2016-05 - Crown Publishing Group (NY)
9780553447682 Check Our Catalog
From the"New York Times"bestselling author of"Bittersweet"comes a novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake made sixty years ago that threatens to change a modern family forever.

Twenty-five-year-old Cassie Danvers is holed up in her family's crumbling mansion in rural St. Jude, Ohio, mourning the loss of the woman who raised her her grandmother, June. But a knock on the
…More


Die of Shame
Die of Shame
By Billingham, Mark
2016-06 - Atlantic Monthly Press
9780802125255 Check Our Catalog
From British thriller master Mark Billingham, a recent finalist for the Crime Writers' Association Dagger in the Library, "Die of Shame" is a chilling story of addiction, subterfuge, and murder.

Every Monday evening, six people gather in a smart North London house to talk about shame. A respected doctor, a well-heeled housewife, a young male prostitute . . . they could not be more
…More


Murder on the Quai
Murder on the Quai
By Black, Cara
2016-06 - Soho Crime
9781616956783 Check Our Catalog
The world knows Aimee Leduc, heroine of 15 mysteries in this "New York Times" bestselling series, as a "tres chic," no-nonsense private investigator the toughest and most relentless in Paris. Now, author Cara Black dips back in time to reveal how Aimee first became a detective . . .

November 1989: Aimee Leduc is in her first year of college at Paris's preeminent medical school. She
…More


The Cavendon Luck
The Cavendon Luck
By Bradford, Barbara Taylor
2016-06 - St. Martin's Press
9781250091277 Check Our Catalog

From the #1 "New York Times "bestselling author comes a captivating epic saga of courage and honor, following the aristocratic Inghams and the loyal Swann family who have served them for centuries.
It is 1938 in England, and Miles and Cecily Ingham have lead the family in bringing the Cavendon estate back from the brink of disaster. But now, with the arrival of World War II, Cavendon Hall …More


I Thee Wed
I Thee Wed
By Bradley, Celeste
2016-05 - Signet Book
9780451475978 Check Our Catalog
From the "New York Times" bestselling author of "With This Ring" comes a Wicked Worthington novel of love that defies reason...

Intelligent and driven, Orion Worthington aspired to be like his mentor, the acclaimed scientist Sir Geoffrey Blayne. Logically, Sir Geoffrey's daughter would be Orion's perfect match. So why can't he keep his mind off the unruly girl who works in Sir
…More


Tall Tail
Tall Tail
By Brown, Rita Mae
2016-05 - Bantam
9780553392463 Check Our Catalog
In this fast-paced mystery by Rita Mae Brown and her feline co-author Sneaky Pie Brown, Mary Minor Harry Haristeen and her animal friends seek to solve a whodunit rooted in eighteenth-century Virginia uncovering a shocking secret that refuses to stay buried.

TALL TAIL

At any moment a perfect summer day in Crozet, Virginia nestled within the Blue Ridge Mountains might turn
…More


A Crafty Christmas
A Crafty Christmas
By Bryan, Mollie Cox
2014-11 - Premier Mystery Series
9781628993509 Check Our Catalog
Christmas is just around the corner, and the ladies of the Cumberland Creek Scrapbook Crop are thrilled when Sheila wins the first place prize in a scrapbooking design contest: a ten-day scrapbook-themed cruise in the Caribbean. Vera and Paige decide to tag along, which should pose the perfect opportunity to learn some new techniques, mingle with fellow croppers, and get in some rest and …More


Bacchus Omnibus Edition Volume 1
Bacchus Omnibus Edition Volume 1
By Campbell, Eddie
Illustrator Campbell, Eddie
2015-07 - Top Shelf Productions
9781603090261 Check Our Catalog
In "Bacchus," the visionary behind" From Hell "(with Alan Moore) and "ALEC: The Years Have Pants" presents his version of "an American-style comic book," filtered through his own brilliant, whimsical, and wide-ranging sensibility. With a fine blend of action, comedy, suspense, and an ear for a great story, "Bacchus" brings the gods and myths of ancient Greece to modern life, as if they had never …More


Books of a Feather
Books of a Feather
By Carlisle, Kate
2016-06 - New American Library
9780451477705 Check Our Catalog
From the "New York Times" bestselling author of "Ripped from the Pages," San Francisco book-restoration expert Brooklyn Wainwright's latest project is for the birds, but it may have her running for her life. . . .

Brooklyn's friend Ian runs the Covington Library, which is hosting an exhibit featuring John James Audubon's massive masterpiece, "Birds of America," currently on loan from
…More


Remnants of Murder
Remnants of Murder
By Casey, Elizabeth Lynn
2013-10 - Center Point
9781611738629 Check Our Catalog
When a cantankerous Sweet Briar resident ends up six feet under, the ladies of the sewing circle have to deal with a town full of suspects . . . With the library's budget dwindling, Tori Sinclair is forced to let go of her predecessor, and fellow sewing circle member, Dixie Dunn. After losing her job a second time, Dixie decides to volunteer for Home Fare, delivering meals to the homebound. …More


Taken in: Southern Sewing Circle
Taken in: Southern Sewing Circle
By Casey, Elizabeth Lynn
2015-05 - Center Point
9781628995589 Check Our Catalog
Winning an appearance on a top-rated, New York-based morning show means the trip of a lifetime for librarian Tori Sinclair and the Sweet Briar Ladies Society Sewing Circle. Anxious to experience Manhattan with her friends, Tori is less than excited when fellow member Dixie Dunn opts to use the vacation as an opportunity to rendezvous with a man she met online. …More


Wedding Duress: Southern Sewing Circle
Wedding Duress: Southern Sewing Circle
By Casey, Elizabeth Lynn
2015-07 - Center Point
9781628996272 Check Our Catalog
Librarian Tori Sinclair is tying the knot -- as long as a murder doesn't unravel her plans . . . …More


Cover Story
Cover Story
By Chase, Erika
2013-12 - Center Point
9781611738636 Check Our Catalog
It's time to celebrate when club member Molly Mathews' childhood friend, Teensy Coldicutt, moves back to town -- complete with a published book. But as the club plans Teensy's book launch, Molly is attacked and Teensy's books are stolen. Who would be so desperate for 150 copies of a sexy novel written by an elderly widow? Then Ashton Corners is hit with another shock when Teensy's publisher turns …More


Read and Buried
Read and Buried
By Chase, Erika
2013-10 - Center Point
9781611738889 Check Our Catalog
Hosting an award-winning novelist is quite a Christmas coup for the Ashton Corners Mystery Readers and Cheese Straw Society. But when he's murdered in Lizzie Turner's house, she's got a holiday homicide on her hands . . . …More


The Girls
The Girls
By Cline, Emma
2016-06 - Random House
9780812998603 Check Our Catalog
An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides s"The Virgin Suicides" and Jennifer Egan's "A Visit from the Goon Squad."

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd,
…More


Better Dead
Better Dead
By Collins, Max Allan
2016-05 - Forge
9780765378286 Check Our Catalog

"Better Dead: "The latest Nathan Heller Thriller from Max Allan Collins
It's the early 1950's. Joe McCarthy is campaigning to rid America of the Red Menace. Nate Heller is doing legwork for the senator, though the Chicago detective is disheartened by McCarthy's witch-hunting tactics. He's made friends with a young staffer, Bobby Kennedy, while trading barbs with a potential enemy, the …More


A Catered Fourth of July
A Catered Fourth of July
By Crawford, Isis
2014-08 - Center Point
9781628991826 Check Our Catalog
After a few cheery exchanges of "Moveth" and "Thou speakest treason," the muskets are fired and the fake battle is over. But the blood on notorious town playboy Jack Devlin looks very real. Is it possible that Jack has had his last tryst? …More