Tuesday, July 5, 2016

What to read while waiting for...



The Girls
The Girls
By Cline, Emma
2016-06 - Random House
9780812998603 Check Our Catalog
An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides s"The Virgin Suicides" and Jennifer Egan's "A Visit from the Goon Squad."

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd,
…More


Are you patiently (or not so patiently) waiting for that best seller?  Here are some suggestions.


Arcadia
Arcadia
By Groff, Lauren
2012-03 - Voice
9781401340872 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
L.A. Times Book Prize (2012)


A mesmerizing second novel from the bestselling author of "The Monsters of Templeton, Arcadia" is the lyrical and haunting story of a great American dream--the progress of a utopian community and its lasting impact on a gifted young man.
A well writen and well characterized tale of 60's commune life and its consequences.  Impossible to put down. …More


The Flight of Gemma Hardy
The Flight of Gemma Hardy
By Livesey, Margot
2012-01 - Harper
9780062064226 Check Our Catalog
Awards:
New England Book Award (2012)

An acclaimed author and first-rate storyteller ("USA Today") delivers her breakout novel: the captivating tale of a young Scottish orphan who sets out on a journey to escape her oppressive upbringing, and finds independence--and love--on her own terms. …More



Leaving Time
Leaving Time
By Picoult, Jodi
2014-10 - Ballantine Books
9780345544926 Check Our Catalog
#1 "NEW YORK TIMES" BESTSELLER

Throughout her blockbuster career, Jodi Picoult has seamlessly blended nuanced characters, riveting plots, and rich prose, brilliantly creating stories that "not only provoke the mind but touch the flawed souls in all of us" ("The Boston Globe"). Now, in her highly anticipated new novel, she has delivered her most affecting work yet--a book unlike
…More