Friday, July 15, 2016

Summer Reading Week 3 Friday





Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy
Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy
By Tucker, Michael
Photographer Walsh, Kristine
2007-07 - Atlantic Monthly Press
9780871139627 Check Our Catalog

From actor Michael Tucker comes this celebration of a good marriage and a careful study of the nature of home, written with an epicureans delight in detail and a gourmands appreciation for all things fine. …More


Ink and Bone
Ink and Bone
By Unger, Lisa
2016-06 - Touchstone Books
9781501101649 Check Our Catalog

An instant page-turner (Lisa Gardner) that straddles the line between thriller and horror... sure to appeal to a wide range of readers, including Stephen King fans ("Booklist," starred review). A young woman's mysterious gift forces her into the middle of a dangerous investigation of a little girl's disappearance.

Twenty-year-old Finley Montgomery is rarely alone. Visited by people
…More


The Glass Castle: A Memoir
The Glass Castle: A Memoir
By Walls, Jeannette
2009-10 - Scribner Book Company
9781439156964 Check Our Catalog


Winner - 2006 ALA Notable Non-Fiction Selection

Alex Award Winner - 2006

In the tradition of Mary Karr's The Liars' Club and Rick Bragg's All Over But the Shouting, Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family.

HPL patron: …More


Highly Illogical Behavior
Highly Illogical Behavior
By Whaley, John Corey
2016-05 - Dial Books
9780525428183 Check Our Catalog



HPL patron: I really enjoyed this book. This is my first book from this author and it was such an easy and enjoyable read. I did kind of guess what was going to happen in this story so it was a little unoriginal but still liked it.
…More


Candlelight Christmas
Candlelight Christmas
By Wiggs, Susan
2013-10 - Mira Books
9780778314745 Check Our Catalog

As single father Logan O'Donnell prepares to give his son, Charlie, the best Christmas ever on the shores of Willow Lake, he just may be in for a Christmas surprise himself, in the form of sharp-witted and independent Darcy Fitzgerald. …More


The Last Star: The Final Book of the 5th Wave
The Last Star: The Final Book of the 5th Wave
By Yancey, Rick
Author Yancey, Richard
2016-05 - G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
9780399162435 Check Our Catalog

The highly-anticipated finale to the "New York Times "bestselling 5th Wave series

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us. They're down here, they're up there, they're nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all
…More


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
By Zevin, Gabrielle
2014-04 - Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
9781616203214 Check Our Catalog


A faded sign hangs above the porch of the Victorian cottage that is home to Island Books. It bears the adage"NO MAN IS AN ISLAND; EVERY BOOK IS A WORLD."A. J. Fikry, the bookstore's irascible owner, is about to discover what that means. The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry reminds us of what saves us all from a life of loneliness and isolation: our sense of empathy; our ability to love and be loved; …More